Styled logo

Tiger Print and Tie-Dye, My Oh My!

Can we please come to a collective agreement that the trends that happened in quarantine... stay in quarantine?

By Jesse BixbyPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Tiger Print and Tie-Dye, My Oh My!
Photo by Ana Itonishvili on Unsplash

2020 in itself was tantalizing and traumatizing for every single person I know. Nobody came out of 2020 unscathed or unchanged in some way or another. I've decided to leave any *bad energy* behind me and am only looking forward to brighter and bigger things. Ridding myself of 2020 includes purging my closet of items that suddenly leave a bad taste in my mouth since quaratine life began.

First of all, I think we can all agree that Joe Exotic killed not only his tigers, but any kind of sexy allure tiger print once used to have. Just like Joe Exotic's rise to fame in 2020, the tiger print trend emerged off-screen with t-shirts, bags, and boots. Although I didn't jump on the tiger print train (animal print has never been my favourite), I did binge the show as quickly as I could. The hype around the show and the fashion statement faded just as quickly as they appeared. Once everyone declared Carole Baskin certified guilty, we moved on with our lives. I cannot look at tiger print without thinking of that infamous bleach blonde mullet and the dangling metal piercings. Do yourself a favour and wear literally any other animal print in 2021.

Tie-dye was also a super fun way for us to express our creativity while we were stuck inside bored, sure. I'll admit, I got into the trend and found myself spending $60 on tie-dye kits even after I got laid off from work because the kids on TikTok made it look like so much fun. After bleaching some t-shirts and sweaters, I even went so far as tie-dying my bedsheets and pillowcases. Now when I see tie-dye anything I can't help but cringe. Oh, the good old days of mentally unraveling and making tie-dye clothing. Let's leave the matching sweatsuits and the memories in 2020.

A social-distancing tie-dye nature walk.

Lastly, the 2020 fashion trend that makes me wonder is: Carhartt. Wearing Carhartt clothing when you are not working in the trades industry is just confusing. You might think you look cool in that oversized hoodie or beanie, but I just have a lot of questions. Are you a hipster? A hunter? An electrician? Did you raid your boyfriend's closet? Do you own a coffee shop? Do you live in a van? Who are you, really? And what are you trying to say by wearing Carhartt? As I walk passed young couples in their twenties on the street, usually one member of the duo is wearing Carhartt. I just gotta ask, why?

As I get ready to purge my belongings to make room for more blessings, I am realizing that the fashion trends that came out of quarantine will remind me of these days for the rest of my life, and just like Zoom meetings, I am forever over it. My only question now is... if we stay in quarantine longer, what's next? Cropping our own t-shirts and thrifting our own bermuda jeans? If so... see you there.

trends
1

About the Creator

Jesse Bixby

Freelance writer in Vancouver, BC.

Instagram: @babybix

TikTok: @jessbixby

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.