Styled logo

Thrift or Opportunity

A Catalyst For Making Memories

By Mary Jo HanlyPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
11
Graduating As A Marine Biologist

“I wish you wouldn’t say that!”

“But Mum, it’s part of the excitement! Revealing that it was a bargain after someone has already complimented you on the dress you’re wearing, just completes and adds to the joy of the find!”

Mum’s a bit ‘Old School’ I’m afraid. Born into an era that seems to be of the belief system that Opportunity Shops’ are for the poor and to admit that your purchase was second hand, only serves to declare your financial status as such. This aside, the perpetual rewards are endless. Mother Nature benefits enormously as recirculating items that we no longer want, keeps them out of landfill. Making Op shops your go-to also greatly reduces the carbon footprint and the environmental impacts that come from the dyes or manufacturing processes and all you're doing is just circulating items that are already in existence. Our waterways are so precious. All that is without mentioning all the wonderful benefits that communities receive from the respective outlets' raising funds for their cause. So, with my University Graduation Ceremony about to take place in a couple of days, I knew what I had to do. My wardrobe and my bank account completely deprived of value…. I headed off to the local ‘Op Shop’.

Yes, America’s ‘Thrift Shops’ are Australia’s ‘Op shops’

....and I really do have to say that my sentiment is more favourably bedded in the abbreviation of the word opportunity as it better describes what is an experience more than one’s ability to be frugal with their money. (I googled spinning around fancifully in a field of flowers under video selection at this point and got nothing but I know you’re feeling it).

You see, what I know to be true of my visits to an ‘Op Shop’ is that they commence a story. Sometimes the ‘yarn’ is one not yet told that you simply share with the enquiring minds as to where you got the fabulous piece of clothing that adorns you, then sometimes it’s a tale shared with those you meet in the outlet or create in situ as often the case may be.

Love Is The Master Key

Finding this wall hanging became an engagement with offering support to a crumbling human psyche. Not only did I find it at a time when my Aunty had died and a group of my friends had also had one our fellow beautifully spirited musos ‘go to God’ but I had also accidentally left it in the residence I was housesitting for a given time. What came to pass was that one of the house owners sons sadly took his own life and so, although I loved it and it had come to mean a lot to me, I left it with her as I knew that she took some comfort from the words. It came back to me at the perfect time and so the stories weave.

Lighting A Candle

At my local, I found...

...this beautiful heart shaped candle burner that not only framed the candle with this outline but the removable well that adorned the top, was also heart shaped. This gave me enormous pleasure as I really like to light a candle while holding a thought for others who may be struggling at any given time. It’s perhaps a tradition born of Catholicism but I house it more happily in the sentiments of my loving mother who frequently offers her personal alliance through the promised offering of a lit candle. I like to add to it by burning aromatic essential oils that are apt for the circumstances. Orange to lift the spirits, lavender to assist relieving you from those otherwise sleepless nights or if just needing to calm an anxious soul, adding rose geranium and bergamot to the lavender mix. Deep inhalation of the permeating aromas and subsequent relaxed exhalation. Aaaahhh. That’s better.

Temporarily Broken Hearted

Which you most definitely need...

...after the dog bounds in, running into said oil burner; resulting in the perfectly moulded heart shaped vessel broken into pieces. Recovery from the demolition of these Op Shop purchases occurs like this…. You bought it for $2.00… Australian dollars. Meehhhh! No love lost (pun intended). Oh! It’s just the top that is broken and, that’s right, I’m part of a local clay shapers group, so I know what my next project is going to be! There. Another community engagement project to ward of the sadness.

Today’s visit was GOLD! The criteria I have before attending these glorious treasure troves at any time is that you must go there with a purpose. No faffing around. I need this and that’s it. However one must also be open to the beauty of the encounter and have an open mind as to how this sought item comes to reveal itself. On this day, mine began with acquiring a dress and as luck would have it, I found it in minutes. The first ‘Large’ dress I found, I couldn’t do up and I can assure you it was NOT large. The second was also labelled with a capital ‘L’. Not letting the previous occurrence dismay me, I tried it on. I knew it was going to fit perfectly.

I’m never too concerned...

...about going the venture alone, as there are always people to help you if you need and this day was no different. I just happened to notice a young eight year old girl who seemed to be completely bored. I thought I might try and put some cheer into her day and suggested that she would probably have more fun if she treated it like dress-ups. You know… Find your mum something to wear that you may or may not think looks good on her (wink wink). She thought that was mildly amusing. I asked her Mum if she would mind doing the zip up on the dress I was trying on and she kindly obliged. I asked them both what they thought and we all agreed this was the one. Done.

After a little bit of friendly chit chat, I realised they were visitors to my home town so I let them in on a little secret.

“There are more treasures in the room behind that may be bountiful for you so, it’s definitely worth a look.”

Mono-Fin Mermaid

Jackpot! The gorgeous young lass discovered...

....THE MONO-FIN! If you’re unsure of what that is, then go back and click on the link... It’s a fabulous globally recognised sport complete with World Champions. This one fit her perfectly. The funniest part is that everything I have described to you here is not just a story, it is true! Completely fact and happened just today. Or perhaps even funnier is that I was explaining the sport to her and that she was literally being fitted into her mono-fin by a Marine Biologist with enough diving experience to give her good advice on her newly acquired piece of foot-wear. She has a beautiful name too! Quite the fit for a blossoming mermaid (which I will keep a secret to protect the innocent). I insisted on buying her the fin as it just gave weight to an already fascinating story.

I like bringing glee to the world through shared stories and experiences. I guess I’m just a human one-stop op shop, as I like to run with opportunities that present themselves throughout life in general because….

“All the world’s a stage and all the men and women merely players.” William Shakespeare

If you have enjoyed the story then give it some love. Feel free to tip if this evoked some measure of happiness and you can afford to. This is my 10th story here on the Vocal Platform but it won't be my last.

shopping
11

About the Creator

Mary Jo Hanly

Mary-Jo Hanly is a budding philanthropist and as such is working on all her skills to manifest this into her reality. A unique creative that has a breadth and depth of life experience unlike any other history has known. Be a part of this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.