Styled logo

They Say Power Corrupts. Might as Well Enjoy it In Every Colorway.

The reasonable madness behind painting your sneakers.

By Gigi RodgersPublished 3 years ago β€’ 5 min read
Like
A frohawk, blue lipstick, and pop art sneakers. This woman's in her element...

Hey. My name is Gigi & I paint sneakers. But I'm a different kind of sneaker artist, because I don't particularly care to paint those crisp-y, white sneakers and make them - well, not so white anymore.

I clean & paint those old, crusty sneakers that have been banished to the back of your closet - under that pile of boxes and guitar you swore you were gonna learn - for the past 12 years!

The way I roll, if it doesn't have a brown/yellow midsole & questionable stains baked into it's crevices, I'm just not interested.

I purchased the left pair for $4 through Facebook marketplace // I purchased the middle pair through eBay for $29 // I purchased the last pair for $75, 20 years ago. The first shoes I ever purchased for myself, before this sneaker art mastery. As you can see from the pics, after 20 years, they needed a pick me up.

Now, I know what you're wondering.

"Why old sneakers"?

Check the reasoning behind my madness.

Number #1: Why Go New, When You Can Go Used - And Not Have ANYONE Be Able to Tell the Difference?

I purchase used sneakers from online platforms like eBay, Mercari, Facebook Marketplace - and even thrift stores & garage sales.

Why?

Because they're cheap. And I'm talkin' pennies on the dollar here folks! Why spend over $100+ for a pair of new Nikes, when I can spend $20 for 4 and make them look brand, spankin' new? The answer is: You don't.

True story.

I was so pumped after 'Into the Spiderverse"', this happened. I don't even KNOW how this happened!

Look like your 'high end' for a few bucks, and use that extra money you're saving on department store "swag", and invest it.

It can be an investment in yourself (e.g., online classes to learn a new skill), use it to pay off debt, or invest in other arenas where your money can do some Cirque du Soleil backflips for you while you sleep (e.g., Roth IRA, 401K, travel hacking, investments, and so on).

Don't be afraid of the bright colors.

Number #2: Learn the Foundation. Change Your Perspective.

Once you actually learn the foundational principles of cleaning & painting sneakers, you look at shoes that people have discarded (and are selling for pennies on the dollar) differently.

You start to see the dirtiest, most run over sneakers' - potential.

You start to imagine the color palette you'll use...the style you're going to implement...the custom color shoe laces you want to purchase. All to bring the whole design, the whole aesthetic, together.

You'll play around with different painting techniques & styles. You'll merge two styles together. And you'll "taste test" and experiment until you figure out which style makes you happiest.

Which style - LOOKS like you.

Always be thinking about different ways to stand out from the crowd, especially when presenting your creations to your audience.

There is a great amount of confidence that comes from knowing that you created this unique THING from your mind, with your own two hands, that looks & FEELS like you - over a weekend.

There is so much PRIDE and JOY with being able to answer the question, "Yo! Where'd you get THOSE?!", with, "Oh these? I made 'em".

And just watch the jaws drop. 🀯🀯🀯

Number #3: Power.

This is probably my favorite reason behind learning to paint sneakers. Check this very familiar story.

Like most kids growing up, my parents didn't have a lot of money. I got one pair of new shoes a year. Some years it was the canvas kicks, other years it was a pair of Fila (not exactly trendsetters at the time).

Of course, owning a pair of Nikes was the dream, but alas...

Even though your parents told you, "They're just shoes. What's the big deal"?, you knew that it was a hierarchy thing. Above everything else you wore, your sneakers were THEE statement piece you always wanted to get right out of your whole ensemble.

Especially on the first day of school when EVERYONE'S flexin'!

But if your family doesn't have the money, they don't have the money - and you don't (dare!) fuss.

Talk about mashing up two styles...

By me learning how to clean & paint USED SNEAKERS that I can pick up from a garage sale for $12, or from Mercari or eBay for $20 - I now have the power over my style and look.

I am not pigeon holed because of my budget, circumstances, or what the store has (or doesn't have) in stock. I can be as creative, and bold, and as colorful as I want to be. And it's all ON. ME.

I have the power to choose how big I want to go. How vibrant (from a mile away) I want to be. And how much space I want to take up, just by showing up.

They say power corrupts. You might as well enjoy it in every colorway.😏

Someone online coined these as the "Koi Fish Ones". BEST. NAME. EVER.

So to wrap this up, by learning how to clean & paint used shoes:

  • You save money so you can reinvest it elsewhere.
  • You sharpen your artistic prowess & see opportunities of improvement where others see "trash".
  • You're creating wearable art & are building out your dream wardrobe (instead of just "building it" in Pinterest)
  • You're giving your confidence a "booster shot" every time you finish a new pair.
  • And a plethora of other exciting reasons that are going to make you even cooler to talk to at a cocktail party. You get it!

Embrace the madness! Taste the magic.✨

I Wanna Do That Too.

Before you say it, because I know you're thinking it. You DO NOT need to know how to draw to level up your sneaker game.

In all honesty, I can barely draw a stick man straight. Typography & abstract images? Sure. Draw a cat? Just avert your eyes...

Knowing how to color in-between the lines (or a section) is about as skilled as you need to be.

If you can color in a coloring book, you can paint your sneakers.

With using just two colors - you can STILL have people glance at your feet and say, "Daaaaang"!

You can never go wrong with the color palette: Black, white, and [pick a primary color]. 🐝

An Easy Trick if You Want to Write Graffiti Lettering on Your Sneakers:

You saw the TL;DR of this technique in the first video above. Here's the full tutorial.

All you need is a pencil, oil-based black markers, paper, & scissors (whatssup Fiskarβœ‚οΈ). With these tools you're going to create your own little stencil my friend.

It's a LOT EASIER to add this little feature to your shoe, than you think. And it's my go-to.πŸ˜‰

Phase Two of This Upcycling Trend: Sewing

To continue in my growth in this arena of upcycling (because thrift stores are treasure troves!), I want to get into upcycling clothes. Specifically, turning something like...I don't know...a blanket into a jacket.

You've FAILED ME McCalls!

But as you can see from the images above, with my first attempt in doing so AND using a sewing machine for the first time in over 15 years, I need to figure some things out.

Ya'll...(sighπŸ€¦πŸΎβ€β™€οΈ) LOOK AT THIS MONSTROSITY!...πŸ˜³πŸ˜†

You've FAILED me for the last time, McCalls! You hear me?! NEVER AGAIN!

Though, I may have tried to go "too big, too soon". Transforming a blanket into a jacket is kind of a big job. There's a zipper I would have to install...and that'll probably take a week to do, in of itself.πŸ™„

I should probably learn how to sew in a straight line first. πŸ˜…

There you go. Baby steps. Embrace those foundations, then dive into the madness head first.😏

footwear
Like

About the Creator

Gigi Rodgers

Sneaker artist. One of the main Maniacs, for sure (Creative Director). An MP4 Overlord (Video Editor). Naruto & Bob Ross re-runs lover. Frohawk & blue lipstick wearin' cutie. N.E.R.D. super fan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.