Styled logo

The Thrift Store Twirl

A story of adventure, magic, and musings on the secondhand world.

By Katharina KnollPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4
The magical skirt, the emerald collar and shawl, and handmade choker by one of the natives of Taos [Pueblo]. Silver belt gifted by a dear friend..

There's something therapeutic and adventurous about going to a thrift store, or a little shop that is filled with relics. I sometimes wonder if it's a spiritual thing--the nostalgia of something that once was. A whole life lived. Stories untold.

I've had the fortune of visiting and appreciating thrift stores since I was younger. I started out getting second hand clothes as a child, and as I grew older, I gravitated towards them on my own. No matter where I lived, the curiosity would be sparked!

Making unique outfits by blending things I found at thrift stores, current trends, classics, designer, or now--handmade clothes! I feel it's a moment to add color to the world by letting your personality shine. Using your voice through fashion.

Princess Sleeve Knit found in New Mexico

Some deeply appreciate secondhand clothes because of the sustainability factor, which is wonderful! If more people knew how much waste there was in the industry, second hand stores could actually become upscale (in terms of the contribution they make to society)! Offering relief on a global level, not to mention, most of them are affiliated with charities that help others who are in need.

I remember once, when I lived in New Mexico, I was riding down the road... two particular incidents! One time I came across a store that seemed to appear out of nowhere called "The Worm Hole". I had no idea what I was in for, but I was happy I said, “yes”, when it came to stopping by. The owners who seemed like best friends out of a movie, casually greeted me, and welcomed me in.

Top found at The Worm Hole, Bottoms found at Goodwill and altered!

It was full of thrifted items, like a zany candy shop with a distinctly quirky and retro touch. I decided to have fun with it, and got inspired by a wave of the Magical Mystery Tour Bus! How do you ask? By taking a British Bobby police hat, a blue pixie-cut wig (mind you, a five-year old may have cut it), and a few genuinely gorgeous tops!

I put on my new outfit, which felt like a character, took a deep breath, and stepped out... in my full glory! British accent and all. They absolutely loved it, as I went around the store in a Cockney accent. To which then I was offered a lemony beer! I normally don't drink beers, but how could I not? I was obliged to have the most fun, as I joined whatever magic was in the air.

I ended up trying the other clothes, and fell in love on the spot. There's something about the older styles, even if they are recreated now. The stitches and fits are sublime in secondhand styles.

Knit top from above.

The second memory in particular, was when I found treasures at a shop aptly named, “Treasures” just outside of Taos, New Mexico. It looked like a spiritual home completely made of relics. Items I had never seen before, as they were deeply tied to the past in a way that almost felt like I was walking through a museum. A museum where I could touch and try on the clothes.

The owner had an old-world Bohemian vibe, warm, yet I could tell she knew more than she led on. I felt at home. As a kindred spirit who understands, has respect, feels, and embraces the unknown.

My wandering eye stopped as soon as I came across a skirt that, honestly, is worth hanging up on a wall. Should I even call it a skirt? It is a work of art! It was embroidered throughout in an eastern style, though not opulent other than the time and consideration it took using technique and color. It seemed to be telling a folktale of courtship between a fisherman and a woman along the river.

Remaster a delicate thrift store find to create a new style!

As someone who is also curious and learning about sewing, I noted there was hair sewn into the waistband! I’d love to know the history, but for now, I treasure it (yes, I brought it home). Considering how lovely and one-of-a-kind this is, I got more than a deal! On everything I’ve purchased at thrift stores. They feel like memories.

These days, when I wear the skirt out and about, the occasion magically becomes magnetic and wonderful! It’s one of those pieces that brings others joy and intrigue! A life of its own, fit for a lady who loves to twirl.

deals
4

About the Creator

Katharina Knoll

Living in Florida, appreciating the wild parrots.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.