Styled logo

The Puffier the Better

Sleeves that wouldn't quit throughout the decades

By Alexis HurleyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

We, as human beings, are often judged primarily based on what we are wearing. Appearance is a powerful thing not to waste.

What gives you the most confidence?

What is that one trend that you can honestly say “this makes me feel amazing”?

For some it’s skinny jeans, for others it’s short curls.

Imagine yourself in the 19th century. Ladies, we are wearing dresses that are extremely tight with layers and layers. Your waist is cinched and your shoulders, voluminous! You are walking into an extravagant event in an elegant ballroom. Your hair pinned up and your gloves made of silk cover your forearms; can't let those show.

I have to admire the fashion of the Victorian Era. The long dresses, the high collars but most importantly the puffy sleeves.

I find myself turning to this fashion trend whenever I see a shirt with this old-fashioned look. It is the signature look that I was obsessed with for years and have been hoping it comes back into style.

When I wear a shirt with this style of sleeve, I find myself feeling empowered and rather important. I feel as though nothing can stand in my way and I can accomplish anything.

That is what great fashion tends to do to a person. It is a sense of pride to feel comfortable in a good shirt, a pair of form-fitting jeans, and a pair of kick-ass shoes. It's looking into a mirror and saying “hello world here I am”. That is what this trend signifies to me.

The puffy sleeve was a trademark of the Renaissance. The sleeves were designed on the only attire that women of the time would have been wearing; dresses. They had a romantic notion to them while looking proper and put together. In 1890 was heavily influenced by this fashion statement but was altered to a more modest puff than that of the 1830s.

The sleeves went from having magnificent height to shortening but widening for movement. This change in trend was to allow the illusion of a slimmer waist. These sleeves would actually have a double sleeve in them, the puffy shoulders then a tighter material for covering the forearm. It was, in my opinion, very enticing to have a style like this. It almost added a sense of mystery to the whole ensemble.

Throughout the decade, the sleeves were resorting back to larger and grander proportions. The length only meant more material to be puffed out. I find this “puffed out” look allows women to look powerful. With the right posture back then, there was no question of status and empowerment.

By the late 1890s, femininity was the top influencer for fashion as the sleeves had reached an all-time fluffy status. They were bigger and better than ever. The way these women must have felt; such power, such status. To top it all off, jackets were also made with this exact same style; how enchanting.

I adore each puff sleeve style. I find the smaller more innocent designs to be darling and fun. I have a few shirts that have larger puffy qualities to them that just make me feel like I am walking on air while wearing them.

There are so many trends I would wish to come back but the puffy sleeves take the cake. To me, you are happiest with what you are most comfortable in. Do not compromise that for anything or anyone. You be you! The silliest trends are noticeably the unforgettable ones. Take a chance, try something new. You might just like it. I always say, dress to impress and live in the moment. You never know what trend will stick.

trends
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.