Styled logo

The Perks of Being a Vintage Flower

Bring back vintage flowers.

By Marcel Grabowiecki Published 3 years ago 4 min read
9

You might be thinking, "Marcel, what on earth is a vintage flower?" Fair enough. A vintage flower refers to a person whose fashion style is characterized by choosing what they wear through the prism of being unapologetically themselves. Someone who puts their spin on vintage outfits, making them unique.

Let me introduce you to my number one VF, my mom.

Vintage flowers don't play by the rules

Okay, but how iconic is this picture of my mom smoking in the middle of Saint Peter's Square in the Vatican? Although it seems pretty rebellious and works with the header of our first perk, I'm sure it was totally legal to smoke there, right? Anyways, my mom is serving you a strawberry red thrift shop find, vintage glasses, and a bit of a classy black elaganza. In the middle of what's probably one of the busiest spots in the world, my badass mom decided to smoke a cigarette and admire the view. Her style expresses that. She stands out of the crowd and wears something different from anyone else. Vintage flowers don't take themselves too seriously and don't let the environment dictate what they should wear.

Vintage flowers are actual art pieces

In the picture above, you can see a magnetic figure showing off confidence and charm. An Ancient Rome sculpture is also visible but not as relevant. See, vintage flowers hold the power of being able to imitate art. They know how to strike a pose and how to look dressed to kill effortlessly. Their poses are neither too much nor too little. There's no trying so hard for that extra like on Instagram business. I wish we could bring back posing not for the appreciation from anyone but as a gentle testimony of who we are.

Vintage flowers keep it comfy

A vintage flower will never sacrifice comfortability over a look. My mom always says, "Why would I ever wear something I don't feel comfortable in?" Hell yeah, Mom. Why do we do that? Oh yeah, because that itchy [insert a fancy brand name] sweater will get me more likes. Or we think to ourselves, "I can barely breathe in these jeans, but at least my butt looks good." Well, guess what? My mom decided to rock these purple leggings with black polka dots, and I am 100% here for it. Vintage flowers keep it comfortable yet fun, unique, and stylish.

Vintage flowers shine even in the darkness

You might think to yourself, "Marcel, it's not her shining but a camera flash." Well, is it? I'm not so sure about that. "Marcel, it's literally the flash." Okay fine! It might be the flash, but it doesn't matter because a vintage flower will shine through with or without it. Only they can wear blue jeans jacket and black jeans trousers and make this combo look as good. Their confidence and attitude give them light. We all know that light attracts light, right? Even nowadays, it's hard to take a good picture during the night. So, how could this one turn out so well in the 1980s? If not, thanks to the vintage flower power?

Vintage flowers don't stress about the size

"The sweater is baggy? Great. The trousers a bit too big? Let me get a shoelace. That top is a bit too long. Hmm, let's crop it!" Vintage flowers have a solution for everything because back in the day, there were no free returns. You just had to make everything work. And to be honest, unless I look like a total potato sack, I never return any ordered clothes. I tweak them so that I feel comfortable with what I'm wearing. I know that it might seem like a wild concept these days, but if you want to join the vintage flower gang, you should give it a go soon! I feel like nowadays, there's so much pressure around one's size. Everything has to fit perfectly and look just right. Well, vintage flowers take pride in appreciating all the tiny imperfections.

Vintage flowers inspire others

As you can see, my mom and I match since 1999. Vintage flowers inspire others to wear anything they feel comfortable getting out of the house in. They show how much there is to explore and how fun fashion can be. They take an old thrift store find and make it a trendy moment. They mix colors, experiment, and are never afraid of getting weird. And, most importantly, they own it. Whatever it is. That's why my mom always gets compliments on what she's wearing. It can be my old t-shirt that's too small for her or random shape trousers she dug up in one of the vintage second-hands, but there's always someone who looks at her and goes, "I love your style."

I can proudly say that thanks to her, I am now a vintage flower myself.

And to you, my dearest vintage flower,

oh well, let me simply say,

you'll never get out of style.

- Marcel

trends
9

About the Creator

Marcel Grabowiecki

Look at you doing what you once thought you couldn't do.

Actor / Writer

@marcelgrabowiecki on Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.