Styled logo

The key pieces you need for the ultimate self-revival post lockdown

Go on, treat yourself. You deserve it. We all do.

By Ron CPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

If you, like me, have just absolutely let go and stopped caring about what you wear and how you look...just know you're not the only one. I mean, most people would say that not caring anymore is a good thing. That it's liberating. Well, sometimes it's not.

I'm based in london, UK and our lockdown has lasted for what feels like a milennia. I live with my parents who I've managed to keep safe by LITERALLY not meeting anyone outside of the household for what now? One year and 5 days. Dude, a year. Anyway let's not think about that.

Pre lockdown, I was an avid fashion connoisseur - THE BOLD TYPE when it came to clothing and accesorising. Heels to go get some toilet paper at the corner shop? Check. Pearls and graffiti marked oversized long coats? Check. Full face of insta-worthy make up and Giant fluffy yellow leather bags? Hell yeah.

But things changed. I wasn't going out, meeting people. I threw all my clothes out. There were no events to get dressed up for. No parties. No work. I let go. Both in a good way and bad way. The good being, I am 10000% more confident in my own skin after going without makeup for so long. I don't psychoanalyse myself in the mirror all the time to make sure I look good and I don't constantly check my compact to see if my makeup has smudged.

Then there's the bad. Walking out with scrappy nails, unkempt hair, chapped lips and dry eyes from overworking on my laptop from home. Not showering enough. Wearing pyjamas to the corner shop cause you are confident but not bothered at all. Confident but shattered and mentally drained.

Do I even want to see people again? Do I have to make an effort?

YES. I do. WE do. We should because we do CARE. We care for US. Looking and feeling good everyday gives us a seize the day attitude. We are ready to take on the world and enjoy the perks of life again. A Colorful life.

Once I realised I was letting go a bit too much, I started following a bunch of influencers on instagram to check out their outfits, daily looks and found inspiration to slowly be myself again and portray that on the outside by gradually going back to being THE BOLD TYPE. The real me which is now a more low key version of the bold type. I started with doing what I class as the main things to get yourself back on track like facials, skincare and fitness. Walks, reading and heathy eating. But then I picked four key things I was gonna start investing in again to revamp myself, the first being - sort out your nails girl.

I don't know about you but a good set of nails is a total vibe. I get all of mine from SHEIN as that's where most of the influencers I'm following get theirs from and you know what? Insane price point and really good quality. A different look for everyday. Whatever mood you're in, you're nails can show it and elevate it so gotta put on those rose gold, white swirl tops to let the world know I'm in control of the day and I'm feeling good.

The second key piece that I found to be a good investment in is LINGERIE. I'm not kidding you, I haven't worn a bra or a thong in... I don't even know how long. Now ASOS kept popping up on my feed and I caved in and looked at the lingerie options they have and was blown away. the bargains! The range of sizing, colors, cuts and fits...I was so excited to get my first couple of sets. Asos did not disappoint. Now, getting the Lingerie was a huge effort and I used to think it was a waste of money...

'I'm not seeing anyone so, why does my underwear have to look good?'

GIRL! We can look and feel good for ourselves. When I first put on those lace thongs and bralets I was feeling myself like never before. I looked in the mirror and realised wow I've got a body. And it's flawed AF but hot. Feeling sexy again opened up a spark in me and I felt confident enough to ask to organise a few dates post lockdown and I'm so in love with my body. Now obviously, I don't wear the sets all the time but on days where I feel like I need a boost, they're on.

The next item on our go to list is SHOES. Find that shoe that screams YOU. Mine were a pair of string up emerald green heels from EGO FASHION. Over the course of the year, my outfits have toned down drastically and my accesories and shoes have become the focus of each one.

I'm 6ft tall...when I wore heels, I used to be super self conscious but I found the perfect post lockdown pair that are really versatile and I know I'll wear often.

I'm not gonna lie, I may have gone to the supermarket with these on, but, a girls gotta do what a girls gotta do. Break 'em in and do your thing. I've been practising wearing them and my height doesn't affect me anymore! Pending meetings and Tribeca film festival. #2021

Last but not least, I got some shades. And masks. Boring masks like the one pictured above. Funky masks. The essentials. I found these sunglasses on the ZARA website and because spring is here and we have had some surprisingly sunny days in London, I keep them with me all the time. Ofcourse, they help shield your eyes from the sun like wearing the masks helps fight the spread of viruses, but they also help shield YOU. I like wearing my sunglasses on days where I wanna stay lowkey and to myself. It's kind of like wearing headphones and you feel immersed in your own little world without the weight and judgement of other people looking at your puffy, sleep deprived eyes wondering how many coffees you must've had to drink...or maybe tequilas?

Anyway, I'm Rona. It's nice to meet you. Thanks for reading and remember to treat yourself now and again. You deserve it. We all do.

shopping
1

About the Creator

Ron C

Filmmaker, Composer, Storyteller

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.