Styled logo

The Black Aesthetic

A guide to dressing soft grunge and peachy punk

By Aleah WarePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
The Black Aesthetic
Photo by Chris Carzoli on Unsplash

Introducing PUNK FASHION! “The Black Aesthetic”

Punk style is extremely UNDERRATED, Many people’s first impressions of punk fashion, or grunge fashion, are less than great. “Trashy” “Skimpy” “Goth”. I think in a lot of ways these judgments are pretty accurate since punk has been stereotyped. HOWEVERRR, you can most definitely dress “punky” without the fishnets and black lipgloss! I believe the true essence of punk and grunge is the dark aesthetic of it all.

Black compliments every natural skin color and hair color, and it can be paired with almost anything. These things are exactly what made me fall in love with black color style!

By Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

What EVERY Grunger Closet Needs

I know what you’re thinking: “Aleah, it’s impossible to have all you need and want in your closet”, but I promise you that once you have these basic accessories you can transform any outfit to punky!

By Tamas Pap on Unsplash

Shoes

Specifically, CHUNKY BLACK HEELS. I absolutely love mine and wear them EVERY chance I get. Mine have about 3 inches and they aren’t crazy goth-looking, which is more my style. They are SODA Chunky heels and only $29 on Amazon. Also, they are crazy comfortable! Like literally the comfiest heels I’ve ever worn in my life.

I also recommend a pair of hightops if you tend to dress more casually. Personally, I love the look of Converse and Vans (I wear both). If you want to stick with the black aesthetic I’d do just that and buy black.

By Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

Stiped long sleeve

Any long sleeve striped shirt! You can layer these under pretty much any T-shirt to add the perfect amount of punk! I love mine and I even will wear them under my sweatshirts and dresses.

By Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Belts

Any belt will do! Mine is (you guessed it) BLACK! I picked it up for cheep at Target and wear it with almost everything. I love belts because they can jazz up anything plus define your perfect waist!

By Noémi Macavei-Katócz on Unsplash

Plaid Pants

Plaid pants come in so many different styles and colors. You can pair them with a graphic tee and bright converse, a dressy shirt and heals, or even a sweatshirt. Mine are extremely stretchy and comfy. Old Navy has quite a selection and is wear I bought mine. These pants are perfect for any look but I love using them with my grunge fits.

By Carol Oliver on Unsplash

Leggings

So, if you don’t like the look of fishnet leggings, then I definitely would recommend a pair of plain black nylons, its pretty much the same look except not as much flack is given over them. If you do like the look of fishnets but not all over your whole leg, you can get just ankle-high fishnet “socks” that are also super cute and inexpensive!

By Ilya Mirnyy on Unsplash

Jewelry

When I dress punk I love adding excessive amounts of jewelry since chains and bling fit with the stereotype. I prefer gold but silver looks just as good. Jewelry just adds that extra bit of glam to your outfit. Plus who doesn’t love a cute choker and a pair of flashy earrings!?

Other Punk Related Accessories:

  • Hoodies
  • Ripped Jeans
  • Graphic Tees
  • Skirts
  • Flannels
By Kalea Morgan on Unsplash

That’s it!

That is literally my complete list and really all that makes up my closet. It doesn’t seam like much but you can flip-flop, Mitch-match, just about everything and I’ve found I have an abundance of outfit options!

Alright! Thank you so much for reading this post! The support I get from all of you has been truly incredible and uplifting. I hope this story inspires you to go be you! Love you all! ❤️

tips
2

About the Creator

Aleah Ware

Fashion fanatic and outdoor enthusiast. Providing you with the newest fashion trends and adventure tips! I am a full time blogger and social media content creator. Check out my blog at https://aleahatypical.com Thank you for supporting me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.