Styled logo

That's Soo 2020

Fashion Trends Best Left In 2020

By Majic.From_KingsrowPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
That's Soo 2020
Photo by Jeremy Chen on Unsplash

So 2020, let’s talk about it…

I think we can all agree that as far as hip-hop culture is concerned, fashion just got good within the last decade. For me it has been a relief not having to carry the burden of baggy jeans and oversized shirts. I am utterly amazed at how mangled fashion and hip-hop have become. In my lifetime the culture’s dress code has essentially shifted away from “average” to “exclusive” high fashion for a more refined look. Throughout that transition, hip-hop artists and influencers have been the driving force behind much of the success fashion brands have achieved today. But as the old saying goes, all good things must come to an end, and in 2020 I am afraid that hip-hop culture may have taken a turn for the worst.

By no means is this a condemnation of anyone specifically, however we should seriously reconsider the entire “Dad Shoe” vibe. While this trend did not begin in 2020, I do feel as though it progressively got worse (a lot worse) in 2020. Personally, I think that several pairs – including but not limited to the Balenciaga “Triple S” and FILA “Strada Disruptor” – are actually a secret ploy to gauge how well platform shoes might be received by todays’ consumers. The midsoles alone tend to be extremely chunky, which from my own experience did take some getting used to. Not to mention that it is rare to even find a dad shoe with a stylish silhouette. They mostly remind me of cinderblocks with shoelaces and vivid colors. I totally get that fashion is a form of self-expression for many and to each their own. However, I have yet to see anyone successfully style them with anything other than sweats. Which leads me to my next trend worthy of biting the dust in 2021, athleisure.

Athleisure is certainly a trend that came with mixed emotions, and like the dad shoe vibe it was totally overkill in 2020. On one hand, I absolutely love the idea of women wearing form fitting clothing 24/7. On the other hand, I do not find it appropriate to wear your actual workout clothes into places like your work office or restaurants. For one thing, I do not know of any garment that is capable of concealing body odor completely. Secondly, wearing your workout clothes for several hours after your workout is probably a bad hygiene routine. Body odor is real, and I would assume that most of us do sweat when we exercise. Just speaking for myself here, but I certainly long for a good shower and fresh clothing after every workout. Yet we have brands like Lululemon and Zella advertising their clothing as attire to be worn both inside and outside the gym.

By Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

My second gripe with athleisure is the fact that it is indeed hypocritical of women to wear athleisure as frequently as they do. As I think back to my grade school days, I specifically remember being told by my female peers and teachers alike that “No one wants to see your butt nor your boxers” as I was discouraged from sagging my pants. Leggings have become a staple in the female wardrobe today. To no surprise at all, I do not have to look hard at all to get a clear glimpse at a woman’s butt while she is wearing leggings. There is basically nothing left to the imagination considering that leggings are literally skintight! Again, I want to reiterate that I love that women have embraced leggings, I just do not find them appropriate for all day wear. So specifically, I hope 2021 brings an end to 24/7 athleisure.

trends
1

About the Creator

Majic.From_Kingsrow

Writting in efforts to change the narrative.

Check out my blog and some of my music here:

https://kingsrowpresents.wixsite.com/website

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.