Styled logo

Review: Touchscreen Crossbody Purse

Surprisingly difficult to fit an iPhone 12 Pro Max

By Melissa NicholsPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
The best bag I've found thus far

I'm a sucker for Facebook ads. I've spent more money on buying "cool" things I've seen on Facebook than I should have. When I saw advertisements for a small crossbody bag with a clear window that allowed the phone to be used without removing it from the bag, I had to do some research.

First of all, my phone is an iPhone 12 pro max. It's one of the larger phones out there, sporting a 6.7" size screen. I also have a case on it which isn't super bulky but it's not slim either, with a popsocket attached, which adds more bulk. I've thought about switching to a slimmer case but I've already bought 4 expensive cases for my phone (I have a problem, ok?) and really don't want to add another. So I began my mission to find a bag WITH a clear window that also fits my phone.

The first bag I tried

I found the first bag that interested me on Amazon. Yeah, I know it doesn't have a clear window but it has TONS of card slots and functions in a unique way.

The back of the bag

The inside of the bag

So, this bag is great if you don't want to put too much stuff in it. In the photo above, it states you can put three cell phones in the pocket at the same time. I'd LOVE to know which three phones they used as the pocket was BARELY large enough to hold my iPhone 12 pro max and I had to shove it in there. The only other items I put in the bag was some chapstick, a folded cloth mask, and all my cards. With the phone inside, it was difficult to snap it shut again. The clasp is magnetic and it would randomly pop open (I'm referring to the clasp that kept the two sides of the bag together). The loop at the top of the bag is meant to turn the bag into a wristlet but it doesn't quite work. My wrists are just smaller than 7" in diameter and I have small hands. There was NO way I'd be able to wear this on my wrist. The paint on the loop (which is metal, by the way) easily scraped off as well. There were also minor imperfections in the way the bag was made - obviously some areas hadn't been properly finished and there was spots where glue was showing. Nothing AWFUL but also not very professionally made. I really like the concept of this bag but it just doesn't do it for me. 3/5. If you're interested in purchasing this bag, see the link below. I am NOT affiliated in anyway.

The next bag I bought also did not have a clear window. I just couldn't seem to find any that would fit!

The front side of the second bag I tried

I bought this bag mainly for the capacity and I really liked the idea of the card pocket in the front. This bag was definitely a step up from the last one. Everything fit, the quality was on POINT...but I still wanted that clear pocket! I would definitely recommend this bag to anyone looking for a small purse/large wallet that also holds your phone. My huge phone ended up having to go in the far back pocket but it still fit and zipped up fine. The keychain/fob thing is kind of useless. I mean, you can't have more than a couple keys on it before it interferes with the card slots. I used it to attach my tile gps device to the bag and it worked well for that. Other than that and the absence of the clear window, this is a great bag. I do wish it had a wrist strap though, but I borrowed one off of a different bag and it was fine. You can find the link to buy this bag below. Again, I am not an affiliate.

The last bag I bought was the light blue bag pictured below and also at the very beginning of this article. IT HAS THE CLEAR POCKET!

This is the inside of the bag

I was almost certain this bag would not work. No measurements of the various pouches were given, the description stated that the bag was 7.4" tall. So I decided to try it. AND IT WORKS! My phone fits in the clear pocket and I can access it through the clear vinyl. It's a little tight and it doesn't slide in easily due to my popsocket, but it's not really that big of a deal since the phone doesn't have to constantly be removed. Obviously, something like fingerprint detection will not work through the vinyl but I can access all my apps and text. I've had some people ask if you can talk on the phone while it's in the bag and I think you could, depending on where your speakers are located. I think it would be extremely awkward though. I do miss the front card pocket that the black bag had. I enjoy that it has a shorter wrist strap and a longer crossbody strap. It has 4 card slots and a slot for a driver's license or ID which is nice. Due to my phone being so bulky, I can not fit as many items inside but I don't need many things. I think I finally found the perfect bag. For now. Hopefully, manufacturers will make bags like these to fit larger cell phone. You can find the link to buy this bag below. Again, I am not an affiliate.

Thanks for reading my reviews on these three bags! I'd love to know if you end up buying any of them and if they work out for you!

women
1

About the Creator

Melissa Nichols

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.