Styled logo

Now &Then!

Trending:1940's/50's

By Nicci FortePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

I have always, and by always, I mean since being a very young girl, had a love affair with clothes. I remember being dressed by my mum way back in the year dot? She always explained why she was dressing me in what she had chosen, and why it was the right thing to wear.

Actually, on reflection I must give credit where credit is due, my mum loved clothes and was an exceptional seamstress, having a daughter who loved dressing up, just opened the flood gates. That’s how fashion was instilled in my blood.

My first memorable outfit was a lemon pleated skirt with matching jacket, very late 50’s. I wore white socks and shoes and yes, I even had a hat. I was probably around 3 or 4 years old. My mum made the suit for me and when I wore it for the first time, our neighbours came to look and praised my mums work, while I twisted and turned for them, I was in my element.

I remember from a very young age trying to stand still while mum pinned and altered some beautiful concoction’s she had seen in one magazine or another and as I got older, watching programmes on the tele, I would say to mum, can I have a dress like that, or, will you make me that dress? It was always the most elaborate, fluffy affair that I could never have worn anywhere. I have to smile to myself when I remember those days, so long ago. I went to ballet classes, I loved being in the middle of everything, and imagined myself being a dancer or actress, I loved entertainment programmes and all the old American musicals, mainly from my mum’s era, the late 40’s and 50’s. I think those times were very special in the world. We all know them as the war years, which officially ended 2nd September 1945, but there was still events, dances or soirees to go to, which was very difficult because there was rationing on, not only with food, but with clothes, so it certainly wasn’t as easy as popping out to buy something, even material was rationed, this rationing did not end until 4th July 1954, 9 years after the end of the war.

Being dressed correctly for the right occasion was priority and good manners. In my opinion it would be a wonderful stance for feminisms if the late 40’s /50’s fashion trended again! In those times people became inventive, as rationing stopped you having anything that the government thought you didn’t need. Buying a new dress for that dance you were invited to? Well, unheard of, so being inventive allowed you to wear the party dress you have had in your cupboard for the last two, or maybe three, years. Let me give you an example of how you could change your look: Take your frilly party dress. cut off the little puff sleeves, the peter pan collar and give your dress straps, instead of it buttoning up to the neck. Then straighten and tighten the skirt of the dress “voila” with a little jacket or wrap thrown around your shoulders, you now have an overall sleeker, sexier looking dress.

It’s amazing how you can change something you have worn and loved and make it into something else. All you need is courage, or a friend that can sew.

I certainly would not like to see these war years come back, or even the post war years, but I have to admit I have a passion for the fashion. Honestly, not only the fashions, but the trend of opening a door for the lady, pulling out her seat at the dinner table ……. Wait! Don’t you dare huff and puff, I have fought and strived for equality just as hard as the next person, in fact I really don’t understand why it is so difficult to be feminine and still have the respect, equality and everything else that goes with women’s’ liberation! I apologies if I offend, but I have never, fortunately, been in need of liberating. My understanding has always been “who is the best person for the job” and that is all that should matter.

Let me be very clear, it is not the nostalgia of the 40’s/50’s, or going back to live in those times I hanker after, what I can envisage is the fashion, feminine and fabulous. I would love to see that fashion trend now a days. When I put on my 50’s suit, I promise you I will not be going in to work to wiggle in front of my boss to impress, or to make any coffee or tea for anyone. I certainly won’t take any innuendo from any person that dares comment on my stilettos’, opened neck blouse, tight skirt, with matching peplum Jacket, with maybe an occasional flash of stocking tops! But heh, if someone, male or female, wants to open the door or bring me a cuppa? …. thanks.

Trends are one of the things that makes the world go round!

Notes: The peplum jacket made a brief revival in 2012. I would like to see it again. It is a very flattering line.

The tiny waist was very popular in this era, to help achieve that look, many people wore the long line bra and girdle to accommodate this. I’m guessing not very comfortable, especially when accompanied with stockings attached with suspenders. Give me the cheats way “hold ups” for comfort any day.

Many skirts were full. That means a complete circle shape.

I defy anyone to wear a full skirt without doing a twirl!

I still own one of my mother’s skirts, a beautiful gold coloured paisley pattern. Usually, these styles of skirts were accompanied with an underskirt. These underskirts had many layers of net, which was scratchy, but showed off the beautiful circle shape of the skirts. The full skirt also emphasised the small waist, which was sometimes exaggerated with an elastic belt, which nipped in very tight.

The young women of that time strived for a perfect hour glass figure. Think Marilyn Monroe, Brigette Bardot, Sophia Loren to mention only three. The guidelines considered to achieve this shape were, your bust and hip size would be equal and the waist should be around, if not at least 10inches smaller than both. No small, medium, or large, just balance.

I smile to myself and understand that we are very fortunate in this day and age as we have many trends and fashion choices. However today and for the rest of this month I am going to trend my mum’s era in fashion, I will try to adapt some of the clothes I have in my wardrobe, and I intend to search for hats, handbags and matching shoes to complete the outfits, why? Well, my grandmothers voice comes into my head, “just remember, it doesn’t matter what you wear as long as your handbag and shoes are always polished and your hat matches your outfit, you won’t go wrong!” and yes, she also used to say remember clean underwear. You never know when you might get knocked down with a bus? I hear you Granma!

Life is too short, enjoy, explore, understand - and remember your Granma!

Maybe I will write and let you know how I was received!

trends
1

About the Creator

Nicci Forte

I am Scottish/Italian, living in France. It's time for me to write, After dancing all over the world & experiencing many different people and cultures, some nice, or great, or horrible. Most of all, I'm here to tell these stories to you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.