Styled logo

Nicki Minaj Queen Perfume

First look at the Limited Edition Queen Perfume!

By Sacha ParkerPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

The queen has landed!

As some of you may know I am a massive Barb! I have been since 2009 and it’s been a road I never strayed from. Nicki Minaj has been releasing perfumes since 2012 and I could say I owned every single one (usually owned release week too) ...until 2 years ago.

Nicki Minaj released a limited edition fragrance called Queen. This went along with her 4th studio album ‘Queen’ that she released in mid-2018. The perfume was released in America first and I was so excited for it to come to the UK... and then it didn’t.

I soon found out that the Queen perfume was an exclusive perfume that was sold in the USA only. I was very upset, I owned every bottle, every fragrance and I even owned multiple bottles of some just to get the free gifts that came along to complete the collection. I was going to make a post about this (back in 2019) but decided against it as a 'first-world problem', and I didn’t want anyone to think I was moaning. Turns out the UK got the Queen Wrld Tour that America didn’t so I saw it as a fair trade, they got the perfume and we got the tour kinda thing.

Anyway, I searched everywhere online but couldn’t get my hands on this perfume so I accepted that I wasn’t going to get one and I got on with my... life, I guess haha! Near the beginning of Feb, I was looking for some hair dye that was only available in America (here we go) and I actually managed to find a website that sold said hair dye. Now, whenever I’m on a new website I always search Nicki Minaj (don’t ask) so I searched her name and low and behold there she was... the Queen perfume... and guess what? They were willing to ship to the UK... I was shook! I was sceptical but I ordered, I waited and it arrived this week! Onto the review... haha!

Queen Perfume

The Queen Perfume was released 2019 following on from Nicki's 4th studio album 'Queen' and is Nicki's 9th fragrance in total. This is Nicki's first fragrance with a new brand LUXE (this is the same brand that make Ariana Grande's Perfumes - check out my review of Ari here) she has parted ways with Elizabeth Arden and moved onto LUXE. As I said before, this perfume is a USA exclusive perfume and is only ‘officially’ available on the Nicki Minaj Fragrance website, it has NEVER launched outside of the USA. But...I managed to get my hands on a bottle 2 years later!! Barbz always find a way!

The Box

Nicki Minaj Queen Perfume Shipping Box

It comes in a plain white box with Nicki’s name on the front in the classic Nicki Minaj font. The box is completely plain, except for some perfume info on the back. At first, because I bought this from a website that's not 'official', I thought I'd actually been scammed when I first saw this box. This is mainly because I was just expecting it to come in the box I had seen online but everything was good in the end. Opening up this plain white box reveals an absolutely beautiful second perfume box.

Nicki Minaj Queen Perfume Box

The main perfume box is black soft velvet fabric feel with a reflective gold mirror plaque design on the front, the perfume name ‘Queen’ and ‘Nicki Minaj’ is in the same font as on the Queen album and is all raised up to create a 3D effect. The box is more of a horizontal style than a vertical one. The rest of the box is completely plain black.

Nicki Minaj Queen Perfume Box (Open)

The lid lifts up like a flap rather than at the top of the box like regular perfumes, the bottle is then neatly placed inside facing out. It opens like a book, I love this idea because not only does the box look nice on its own but it makes a great display case and you can reuse the box once the perfume is gone! I think this is Nicki's best box design for any of her perfumes. I love the feel of the fabric, it's soooo nice!

The Bottle

Nicki Minaj Queen Perfume Bottle

The perfume bottle itself is the same shape and design we’ve had from all of Nicki’s perfumes before. I know some people might argue that after 9 perfumes the bottle is ‘unoriginal’ but when you have collected every single one they all look great standing together, all a part of one whole collection so I like it and I’m glad she’s stuck with the same bottle design for them all. This perfume only comes in 100ml, there are no other sizes sold. The bottle itself reminds me of Pink Friday Deluxe Edition with the gold plated mirrored effect. The only difference being that rather than being full gold, it has an ombré gradient into black near the bottom. The perfumes hair is in a black short bobbed hairstyle, this reminds me of her Onika perfume. You then have the classic gold ‘Nicki Minaj’ necklace and pink lips. This is a classic Nicki perfume bottle and she fits perfectly with the rest. I have tried my best with the photos but it's so hard to take photos of mirrored items haha!

Nicki Minaj Queen Bracelet

What makes this perfume bottle slightly different is this one also has a gold headpiece (which matches the Queen era). This doubles as a bracelet you can wear, there is a small clasp at the back to open and close it. I have tried it on but my wrists are too wide for this bracelet, I might need to lose a bit more weight until this bracelet fits right. However, it is very loose on top of her head and can drop off very easy, it can be kind of annoying when it comes off so easily but if you choose to keep it as a bracelet (and not on the bottle) then this won’t be an issue. I love the look of it on the bottle though so I’m going to keep it on the perfume.

The Scent

Nicki Minaj Queen Perfume Bottle

The scent is a little different from her others but it still has the signature fruity smell. This particular scent is a little more toned down and when I was reading what others thought about it years ago, when it first released, I can see what they meant when they said it was more unisex, however, I still feel this perfume is more for women. The main ingredient is pear which is probably why the perfume is fruity first, although it's not as strong as some of her others; it has a tinge of sweetness but is not overly sweet. It then tones down to a woody musk smell which all of Nicki's perfume have as the base notes. According to the website, the main ingredients are:

  • Pear & Bergamot for the top notes
  • Musk, sleek Woody notes & Praline for the base notes

It has a very warm smell, I imagine fall time with a fireplace, kind of vibes. It is a night time going out smell though, not an everyday thing. I'd definitely wear this when going out whilst in the Autumn season. This perfume lasts a good amount of time, I noticed about 6-7 hours which is good for a perfume. It didn't smell too overpowering like I said before it is more toned down compared to her others, the sillage I'd say is a moderate amount.

The Price

Like I said before, this perfume is only available on the Nicki Minaj Fragrance website it retails there for $75 and is limited to a maximum of 2 per customer. It also has free shipping for the U.S Barbz whoo hoo!

Now, international Barbz the moment you’ve been waiting for... where the heck did I get this from!! I want to say before I tell you that the site does look dodgy, I took a leap of faith buying this perfume, everything worked out for me and the perfume arrived in the UK undamaged; but that might not be the case for everyone. The website is called uBuy you can buy things from other countries that might not be available to you and have them ship over to you, I think it’s a new website because I never came across it in 2019 that’s for sure! As of me writing this blog post there are only 17 bottles left so you have to be quick! This perfume retails at $75 from Nicki's website but I bought it for $87 but don’t forget that has shipping on top so not to bad!

I can say I love this perfume (of course) but it is not my favourite - Trini Girl still takes the crown... sorry Queen! This is my favourite packaging from her though! I’m so happy I finally got this perfume! It’s been a long 2-year wait but it finally happened! I’m excited to see what Nicki has in store for the future with this new brand (if this is the first one I’m very excited!) I can’t wait for NM5 and for the perfume that might possibly come with the next album.

Thank you so much for checking out this post! if there's anything else you'd like to know about the Queen fragrance then let me know in the comments and I'll try and answer any questions as best I can! I'm also filming a video review of this perfume where I'm going to go into more detail you can check that video out on my YouTube Channel very soon :D Thanks again! Have a great day!

celebrity looks
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.