Styled logo

My Media Fit

A Call From the Social World

By Aundrya RichardsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Having the Best Without Stress!

I was becoming blind to the ads set on my news feed that were in place to entice and distract me from what I really intended to use my social media account for. I had to find a way to ignore the ads that would appear like deranged stalkers on my feed, minutes after I looked up something online in what I thought was the privacy of my own computer or cell phone. Privacy settings that are now partial, only allowing me to block and keep certain things or people away from what I see on my timeline. But somehow the ads for weight loss, online schooling, celebrity gossip, food and the many other things that are shown with or without my consent get a pass no matter what I do to hide myself away from it all! I must give it to them, these annoying ads are very persistent!

I’m reminded of the hit sitcom from the nineties, Family Matters. Steve Urkel knew that Laura Winslow wanted nothing to do with him from the first day they met and she had no problem making it known. He knew she did many things to keep him out of her life for good but Steve didn’t allow the rejection to stop him because he knew there was only so much Laura could put in place to keep him away. Laura wasn’t able to control the fact that Steve lived next door and could appear at their front door at any moment. Laura couldn’t control the fact that she and Steve were the same age so by default, they went to the same school and even had the same classes. For Laura, the things she couldn’t control; kept the very person she wanted out of her life a topic for discussion that couldn't be closed. Steve’s motivation for not giving up on his pursuit of Laura was the assurance he had within himself that one day, Laura would see him in a different light and would finally give him the same desire and attention he had been giving her for so many years.

As it pertains to me, I’m Laura Winslow and the constant ads on my social media accounts are Steve Urkel. I only have so much control over removing the ads I don’t want to see. There are some components that will remain no matter what and like Steve, the ads will remain persistent with one goal in mind. The goal is to keep presenting what they have to offer to me on social media with assurance that the right ad will be placed on my path at the right moment and in that moment, I will stop and take a second look with no desire to hide or remove the ad from my timeline. Well, the persistence of those ads paid off one day and what I saw took me by surprise and it ended up being an answered prayer.

I was recently strolling my timeline on Facebook like any other day and I see a beautiful set of casual dresses in many different styles and colors. So I stopped and began looking through each one of the dresses, mouth on the verge of watering as I sat wishing I could buy them all. As I got ready to continue strolling down my timeline, it was like I heard a call from the ad I was viewing. A call that made me want to look a little more before turning it away and when I responded to that call; I saw something that brought on what I like to call a media fit! I was overjoyed with excitement and relieved when I saw that the beautiful dresses that caught my attention could be bought through an app called Afterpay. The app would give me a credit of $600.00 that would allow me to purchase nice clothes like the ones on the ad and ultimately pay for the clothes in increments of very affordable amounts! This option blew my mind and had I not seen this ad, I would not have known it was available and I would not have realized that treating myself to something nice didn’t always have to cost me an arm and a leg to do it. I was able to have the best without the added stress and it was all thanks to the daily social media ads that like Steve Urkel, would not give up because they knew that their persistence would eventually pay off and it did just that and then some! Who knew that the right ad could change your life forever and in the best way possible!

shopping
Like

About the Creator

Aundrya Richardson

Hello! My name is Aundrya and I am a self-published author who loves to write! I look forward to connecting with other great writers and sharing stories that will ultimately inspire and encourage those who read them!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.