Styled logo

My Journey of Revamping My Wardrobe

Downsizing and selling clothes I don't wear or want anymore

By Tatiana AdamopoulosPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

This started in late 2015. I decided to go through some changes with my wardrobe, starting with my closet. I discovered Poshmark and Depop and noticed that people were buying and selling used stuff, so I hopped onto the bandwagon.

Poshmark and Depop are amazing to use. It's like having a thrift shop on your phone. It's where people sell and buy used clothes. I sold only one thing on Poshmark, but I sold many things on Depop. People have gone through changes of revamping their wardrobe because they're going through changes, their clothes don't fit or suit them anymore, or they aim for a different wardrobe style. I use Poshmark mainly for buying used and secondhand stuff. Same goes for Depop, but I sell stuff there. Lately, I have been buying used and secondhand clothing.

Now, onto the journey. My closet was so cramped with clothes. Hangers would be sticking out, and clothes would get intertwined with each other. I had to do something, because it was getting out of hand. So, I took down handfuls of hanging clothes and put them in two piles: one for keeping and one for selling. As the hours passed, I noticed that the selling pile was getting larger. I never knew that I had this many clothes that were taking up too much space in my closet. All this time, I've been throwing money left and right at clothes that would no longer serve me a wearing purpose—if you catch my drift.

What was my reason? What was I thinking? Why did I put myself into this mess? I even pulled out clothes from my drawers and put them up for sale. My drawers were getting stuffed with clothes, and it was becoming an issue. I took out items that didn't fit, were out of style, or I just couldn't find a purpose for anymore. I knew that there were people out there who chose to buy used clothing. I even got rid of clothing with cheesy kids stuff graphics on them because I was growing up and wanted to have a more conservative style. I'll have you know that my style is monochromatic—in other words, all black and maybe some deep shades of red. When it came to choosing which clothing item goes in which pile, I had to carefully inspect it and ask myself these questions: Will I wear it more? Do I really need this? Does it have the potential of being worn by me? If I answer no to these questions, I'll put the item in the "To Sell" pile. If I answer yes to these questions, I'll put the item in the "To Keep" pile. This is how I do it.

As time went on, my closet had more space to put more clothes in. I even grabbed some stuff from my closet that I had for years. I was getting tired of having a cramped wardrobe. I was better than this. I felt like having an overstuffed closet wasn't healthy for the mind. I do hope to redo my closet in the near future. I wish I would've done this when I entered my 20s, but you know that they say: "Better late than never." I was very satisfied when I cleaned out the closet. It felt like a great weight had been lifted off my shoulders. It was a detoxifying and cleansing feeling.

So, the clothes that I pulled out from my closet are available in my Depop shop (I'll put a link if you're interested in purchasing. I'll do it anyway.).

There's no shame in buying used clothes. Hell, you can buy used designer clothes. No shame in that, either. It's great to buy and sell used clothes, that way, you can be a bit more ethical and save some money.

Link to my Depop shop here.

deals
Like

About the Creator

Tatiana Adamopoulos

Hello, everyone!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.