Styled logo

My Holiday Gift Guide for 2019

Items I love & What I'm Eyeing This Season For Beauty Junkies & The Style Obsessed

By Laura OdegardPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
5

As I was trying to get my holiday shopping done, I found myself reaching out to people who shared similar interests to the people who I was shopping for. For example, I know very little about fishing, gardening or cars, but the people I'm shopping for love those things. I realized how tricky it can be to find a great gift for the special people in our lives, especially if they aren't interested in the same things as us. I decided to put together this Holiday Gifting Guide to share which products I've already purchased that will make an amazing gift as well as which items are on my radar.

I'll start with some items I already own, love & highly recommend. These are the things that come to mind immediately when I ask myself, "What was really worthwhile for me to buy?" There's nothing more annoying than realizing something was a waste of money or not all that it's hyped up to be!

What I Already Love

1. Travel/Work Laptop Backpack from Calpak ($105)

I always get a ton of compliments on this backpack. I love that it's stylish yet functional, and has a built-in laptop case. It's a perfect size for fitting my laptop, wallet, mini makeup bag, passport, Beats headphones, and whatever else I might need if I'm traveling or using it for everyday to and from the office. Plus, I think it's better for my body to not constantly carry a purse on one shoulder!

2. Anastasia Soft Glam Palette ($42)

There's sooo many different eyeshadow palettes to choose from, it can be really hard to pick. I think this Soft Glam Palette from Anastasia is perfect because it has enough neutral, matte colors that can be used for an everyday look as well as enough bold, shimmery colors that can be added to really dress up for a night out. Since it's Anastasia, you already know the pigment will be amazing. The shadow stays on all day (or night) and all the colors easily blend with each other.

3. Dr. Perricone 'No Makeup' Bronzer SPF 20 ($35)

This bronzer really nails it for me. I think it would make a great gift for anyone who likes to add a touch of bronze to their makeup look. Plus, unlike foundation or lipsticks, there's no need to worry about a color match. This formula manages to be glowy but not shiny and can be easily added into a moisturizer for a touch of all-over glow. However, I like to use it as a contour. To see how I fo it, you can watch my IGTV here, and skip to 0:43.

4. Sam Edelman Hilty Boot ($160)

What I love about these boots is that they’re simple, chic and extremely versatile. I wear them to the office, for a night out, to brunch, and to pretty much anywhere when I just need a simple yet chic shoe. Plus, they are super comfortable and I can actually wear them even if I’m on my feet all day.

5. Saje Reflexology Mat ($36)

While the heels that I mentioned above are actually super comfortable, I can’t say the same thing about all the heels in my closet that I wear. After an especially long day (or night) when my feet are aching, this reflexology mat saves my feet. It feels like a little mini massage for your feet that both relaxes sore feet before bed and also helps me wake up in the morning by stimulating blood flow. The set comes with essential oils you can add as well.

6. Alien by Mugler Perfume ($84)

This is actually the most amazing fragrance and I’ve never received more compliments on a perfume than this one. I’ve had my friends stop and just smell me because it smells that good. It’s definitely a strong scent with a sexy and sophisticated vibe and notes of jasmine sambac, cashmeran wood and amber gris. Great for a date night!

7. Plaid Crop Blazer by Leith ($79)

I feel like every girl should have a great blazer like this one in her closet. It’s so simple to take this and pair it with nice jeans, a tank, booties and you have a polished and put together look. I recently brought this with me for a work trip to New York and I wear it when I’m on camera all the time, it’s fitted perfectly in way that’s super flattering.

8. 'Hollywood' watch from MVMT For Her ($125)

I was sent this watch, and even though I'm not normally someone who wears watches, I genuinely loved this one. I like that it's simple, chic and easy to adjust. It just adds a little something to any outfit that instantly makes me feel a little more polished. Plus, I feel like as a gift, this is totally safe because you can never go wrong with a stylish accessory. If you missed their sale, you can use code lauraodegard15 at checkout for 15% off.

Things I Have My Eye On

1. Barefoot Dreams 'Into The Wild' Blanket ($180)

So, before you look at the price tag on this blanket and tell me that this is absurd, hear me out. This blanket regularly appears on KUWTK as Khloe Kardashian's favorite blanket, and now it's been reviewed so many times with flying colors that I'm convinced (AKA easily talked into) it being worth the price tag. Either way, sometimes there's nothing that I look forward to more at the end of the day than coming home, leaving my phone in another room, and wrapping myself up in a blanket to read a book or watch TV. I very much value my relaxation time, and if there's something out there that will make it that much better, then I'm definitely interested.

2.(Alo Yoga Sherpa Half-Zip Up ($138)

Going on the theme of things that provide ultimate comfort, the next item I'm eyeing is this sherpa zip up from Alo Yoga. What's great about this is that it's a crop, so its flattering with high waisted leggings after a workout class, or could be paired with jeans for a casual look. Since it's made by Alo, I know it will be high quality and extra soft.

3. Tatcha Dewy Skin Cream ($68)

I've watched enough YouTube makeup tutorials featuring the Tatcha Dewy Skin Cream that I'm pretty sure it's a staple for healthy, glowing skin. As someone who has dry skin, the winter really puts my skincare routine to the test. I love that this is part of "Clean at Sephora" certified, which means it's made without sulfates, parabens and other harsh ingredients.

shopping
5

About the Creator

Laura Odegard

Insta @LauraOdegard

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.