Styled logo

Magical Pajama Pants

Thrift Store Magic

By DeeAnndra DovePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

When I saw the best thrift shop purchase challenge, I could not help but look down because still to this day since being a freshman in high school, a little over a decade ago. I went into a thrift store in the DFW area with my mother, which normally means that I get done within five minutes and die of boredom or get in trouble while the neverending story actually starts. This time was different as I felt drawn to the rack in the far right of the store maybe it was the training or predestined fate, but I found the best pajama pants on this side of the galaxy that day. I was swiping like a madwoman on Tinder who gonna show that man what is good until the heavens parted to show me my soon-to-be “uniform” for the next decade. Those pants and I spent the next two and half hours being drug around as my mother and grandmother shopped till they literally made us all drop. Every few minutes after asking if we were close to getting to go eat would be followed by the hoping for the pants. Finally, after eternity and a day I got to go to the register with my precious treasure. Then just when some folks think God is done working miracles those pants became mine for just five dollars.

These ordinary silky black and colorful polka dots got me through heartache to some of the best with every precious memory in between. As a curvy girl in high school the fact these glorious pants made me feel like a supermodel that just had brunch with Beyonce and later will have dinner with Chrissy Teigen. My fondest memory was getting ready for shows during our theatre competitions, and everyone saying, "Oh no Dee's got her pajama pants on," in a joking manner of course. With every loss of my loved ones those pants were put on for comfort, and with every happy moment at a lake or body of water, those pants were put on for comfort. Something just comes over you when you have those luxurious pants on actually about halfway pulling them up some spark just goes through your body. Like being possessed by the sassiest version of yourself with the best glorious confidence. Who knew five dollars could bring a young girl into womanhood and stay around like the best little security blanket? Not I. I figured they would last maybe a year because thrift stores do not have the best track records at least with me anyway for long-lasting. Ironically, or maybe intentionally these pants have brought me along with others to the discovery of who I am. Taught me the importance of rest, self-love, and still teaching me the art of being still. Every memory flashes by like a Marvel cinematic trailer, when I look down at them. From the first pajama day at school that I strutted down those hallways like a runway doing my best with my clumsy nature reminding me of who I really am.

All I got to say is thanks to whoever gave away these pants because as stupid as it seems I would be lost without them as part of my apparel. After all these years I now understand why my mom shops so meticulously because she is looking for buried treasure. Now I also understand why my dad just sits back and lets her do her thing because he gets joy out of watching her joy of treasure hunting. Luckily, I too now have that person, and yes the amazing magical wonderful pants are still a key feature. If you are nosey; he loves them.

shopping
2

About the Creator

DeeAnndra Dove

Just a woman trying to find her fit in the world. Multifaceted with many passions trying to create her own platform to help others like her find their way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.