Styled logo

Keeping up with Today's Fashion Trends

Trying to keep up with today's fashion trends but don't know where to start?

By Mrs. LearningPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Trying to keep up with today's fashion trends but don't know where to start? I'm here to provide you a few tips to help you get started.

Fashion is changing quicker thanks to social media. Every day new fashion trends are an uprising and the resolution of fashion is growing. You'll probably feel like you need to change your entire closet but that's not the case here. Sure you may have some pieces you no longer need or wear but the pieces you still do wear, keep. Here's a little routine I do when I want to blend with today's fashion trend with my current closet, which I'm sure half of you do but for those who don't, keep reading.

Instagram Fashion

I always check out the latest fashion in magazines but their are great style bloggers on Instagram to lookout for. Type in the word, "Fashion" on the search bar and you'll get a list full of popular style bloggers. You don't even have to have an Instagram account to see their post but to keep up with their fashion, I suggest you follow them. For an example, my favorite bloggers to follow are Lucy Hernandez and Annette x Style + Outfits! Lucy Hernandez—Style Blogger (@lucyswhims) (sample picture displayed below).

The way both stylers displays themselves in different positions and angles to show off their item of clothing, jewelry, shoes or accessory. I really like their style of clothing choice. The four pictures of each user I posted below are a few of my favorites. I basically have a couple of those pieces and just need a similar jacket, shoes or handbag to match it. This is where I take the pictures with me to the store, which is where I try to find clothes, accessories or handbags similar to the picture from Instagram. Or your favorite Instagram style blogger may provide you links to their clothing products with just scrolling over the image.

Style bloggers use Instagram to inspire their looks, share their styling work or sell their clothing line. Other bloggers provide you an outfit idea or what pieces you would like to put together.

Affordable Stores to Shop

Before I go shopping, however, I open my closet to see what I'm missing. I try to have a combination of various outfits with the clothing pieces I already have. I tend to get an overall color for a tank top, scarf, etc. After you went shopping start putting your outfits together and you'll definitely see a big change in your closet. Many of your friends will wonder where you got the money for these new outfits.

Having worked at Macy's, Lord & Taylor and many others I've seen the look on customers face when they find a good deal. I can't begin to tell you how it feels to find a Steve Madden handbag or a Marc Jacob black boots in an affordable price. Great feeling! That's probably why I prefer to shop alone so I can think and not miss any good deals. Here are just a few places to name to shop for good deals:

  1. TJ•MAXX
  2. Marshalls
  3. Macy's
  4. Nordstrom Rack
  5. Lord & Taylor (check out their shoe sales)
  6. Discovery Clothing Company
  7. Ross (check out their accessories, shoes, and handbags)

But no one needs to know where you go shopping. All that matters is you looking fabulous, feeling confident and beautiful! Those were just a couple of tips to help you catch up with today's fashion trends. Happy shopping!

tips
Like

About the Creator

Mrs. Learning

I provide my POV of different topics and experience along with what I've learned and still learning.

Disclaimer: This information is not intended as a substitute for professional medical advice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.