Styled logo

It’s Time to Bring Back the Eighties Ski Fashion

Keeping the slopes stylish

By Joyce KayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
It’s Time to Bring Back the Eighties Ski Fashion
Photo by Kipras Štreimikis on Unsplash

I wasn’t born in the eighties, and because of that there are lots of things I didn’t get to experience. I didn’t get to watch Prince Charles and Princess Diana’s wedding live. I missed out on the boombox, and working out in leg warmers and thick headbands.

By Dave Weatherall on Unsplash

With all that being said, the one thing I feel like I really missed out on the most, is the fabulous ski fashion that was around in the eighties! I see it all the times in movies and TV shows, bright and colourful snowsuits. Full suits, instead of separate pants and jacket. Often those movies and the ski fashion are accompanied with awesome music, and even more awesome hairstyles!

I can think of several logical reasons why this should be the next fashion trend to make a comeback, and this article is going to discuss these reasons in detail. Whether you are an avid skier or not, keep reading to learn about the benefits of bringing eighties fashion back to the ski hills.

  1. Bright colours are so positive!
By Steve Johnson on Unsplash

There is something that warms our souls when we see bright colours. They can improve our moods and make us feel much more positive. Sometimes bright colours may even bring a smile to our faces when we are having a rough day.

Skiing is an activity that many people engage in for fun, but also for their physical and mental health, so why not further enhance that feeling with the use of fun and uplifting colours. If the eighties ski fashion could make it back onto the slopes, they would become like a sea of bright colours. You would be able to look down from the chairlift and see bright pinks, yellows, greens, purples, and blues. The ski hill would become a rainbow, and who doesn’t seeing love a rainbow?

2. Let’s think practically about this, shall we?

By Chen gang on Unsplash

How many of us have gone skiing and lost track of our friends on the hill? I know I have! Even if my friends haven’t gotten that far away from me on the hill, it is easy to lose them amongst all the other grey ski jackets. I know I have even skied right past my friend, who had stopped to wait for me. They didn’t see me pass them, and I didn’t see them, because we just blended in with everyone else on the hill. Furthermore, every time I go to the ski hill, I see my exact same ski jacket on at least three other people. It certainly wouldn’t be difficult for my friends to confuse me with other people on the hill.

One of my favourite features of the eighties ski fashion is that each outfit was distinctive. Part of what makes this trend so desirable is the differences between the outfits, allowing people to express themselves and their individuality. If we brought back the eighties ski fashion, it would be easier to see our friends on the hill, due to a combination of the uniqueness of each outfit, and the brightness of the colours. Gone would be the days of lost time waiting for your friends at the lift line, only to find out you have passed them halfway down the hill, where they were waiting for you. If anything this could maybe even allow for you to get more ski runs done in the day!

3. Keep the wind and snow away, so you can have a better ski day!

By Laurent Perren on Unsplash

The current pairing of ski pants with a ski jacket is not always the most efficient at keeping out the wind and snow. For example, if you are skiing in deep powder, it is not uncommon to get snow in your jacket, and subsequently down your pants! There’s nothing worse than getting cold snow where you don’t want it…except maybe cold wind! I, for one, know there have been many times where I have been sitting on a chairlift, only to feel a cold burst of wind on my back, in the gap between my jacket and my ski pants. This is a problem that can be avoided if we go back to the full snowsuits from the eighties. It just makes logical sense!

If you agree with any of these three points points, join me in starting to bring the eighties ski fashion back to the slopes!

trends
2

About the Creator

Joyce Kay

Practicing creativity

Instagram: @joycekaywriting

Referral Link: https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=joyce

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.