Styled logo

It's Better When Thrifted

I think I have a shopping addiction... the thrift kind.

By Jesse BixbyPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
It's Better When Thrifted
Photo by Becca McHaffie on Unsplash

Not only is thrift shopping good for the environment and our bank accounts, but I find that all of my favourite pieces I own come from second-hand stores.

There's no feeling quite like it -- you're rummaging through the clothing racks and suddenly you see it -- the perfect piece. I don't know about you, but the rush I get from finding dope clothes at Value Village gives me a thrill comparable to the high you can only get on a rollercoaster or when you're falling in love for the first time.

I try not to shop in big box stores anymore because of this reason. Sure, new clothes are cool. But finding that perfect, one-of-a-kind, special clothing item at a thrift store is soooo much cooler.

Therefore, in no particular order, I've included some of my favourite items I've collected over the years from second-hand homes to show you the incredible finds waiting to be discovered.

It's a little beat up, but it's one of my favourite items I own.

Shout out to my mom for finding this for me! She got this Guess denim backpack at a garage sale and I've had to sew the straps back on multiple times, but hey, repurposing your finds just makes them extra special, right? This is the perfect bag for day adventures, and I always make sure to keep my other thrift finds in it such as...

This is my favourite thing I own. Period.

This camera, which is the only thing that matters to me. I found this 35mm film camera in a giant bin at Value Village and it is my favourite thing I've ever bought. This reloadable point-and-shoot is the perfect accessory for hanging with friends or exploring the city and capturing the moment. I love how the photos turn out -- that grainy, filmy exposure makes every shot turn out amazing. I do not leave my house without this thrift find on me.

Pro tip: Check the electronics section of your local thrift stores for old cameras or camcorders. You never know the quality you'll get, but life is all about taking chances, right?

The dresser of my dreams.

I swear I manifested this dresser into my existence. I had been on the lookout for one just like this for months so I could store my record player on top and keep my vinyls in my bedroom for smooth, easy listening mornings. (Most of my vinyls are thrifted as well thanks to used record stores!) Talking to my friends about how badly I wanted a tall, vintage, wooden dresser, I decided that if it were meant to be, I'd find one. Sure enough, the next day while browsing Facebook Marketplace, this dresser popped up for $40 and was only a couple blocks from my house. It fit perfectly (by an inch) in my sister's car, so I'd say it was meant to be.

Pro tip: Just moved in? Always check Facebook Marketplace for furniture before you buy something new. Marketplace is the place to find cheap items to furnish your home.

Check out F As In Frank on Instagram: @fasinfrankvancouver

Onto the clothes! I'm so fortunate to live in a city where thrift stores are greatly appreciated and there's so many rad spots to shop at. One of these stores in Vancouver is called F As In Frank on Main Street. They carry tons of band tees, sports jerseys, dope jackets, and one-of-a-kind finds. I got these N.W.A. and Jimi Hendrix tees there, and I usually have to refrain myself from dropping hundreds of dollars every time I visit.

Jackets are easily my favourite thing to buy and these two do not disappoint.

This acid wash demin jacket and green leather jacket are two staples in my wardrobe. I found both of them in the men's section at Value Village on two seperate occassions and I remember my excitement both times; my jaw literally dropped and I quickly grabbed them off the rack. I love baggy, oversized clothing and these two pieces were too unique to pass up. I believe I paid $5 for the denim jacket and $30 for the leather one. Amazing prices for the amount of love I have for them!

Pro tip: Always check the men's section for jackets. They have the best finds!

I thrifted this painting and the frame separately, and now it hangs in my hallway.

A special $4 find that will follow me from home to home for the rest of my life! One of my favourite places on this planet is Lake Louise, Alberta. I grew up not far from the mountains and my friends and I used to do roadtrips to Banff all the time. As I got older, I learned that Lake Louise is actually a sacred, spiritual place with a powerful high-energy vortex. You can truly feel the energy shift when you're visiting, and some of my happiest memories are from my time spent in the Rocky Mountains.

While digging through the paintings at Value Village, I saw the "Lake Louise" title with the painter's stamp of authenticity and immediately put it in my basket, then hunted down a different frame that matched my gallery wall in my home. This little painting is now one of my favourite art pieces I own.

Pro tip: If you find a piece of art you like, hunt down a matching frame while you're in the store if you don't like the one your painting comes with.

The vase = thrifted. The plant = fake.

My entire house is slowly filling up with jars and vases I've found while thrifting, but this is one of my favourites so I thought I'd include it for honourable mention. Best part... it was only 50 cents! I will never buy a new vase again in my life.

Part of my morning routine includes reading this book that used to belong to someone else.

I love used books because of the folded down corners, the highlighted passages, the little notes made inside... you know that the words on the page meant something to someone, and that in itself is so special.

I found this small meditation book at McLeod's Books downtown Vancouver and whoever owned it before me had highlighted their favourite sentences for each daily practice. Now when I read my morning meditation, I smile because I know someone somewhere was using the book to become their best self as well.

As you can see, most of my home, wardrobe, and bookshelf is made up of incredible finds I've been collecting over the years.

I used to think I was a pretty minimalistic person, selling most of my belongings before making the move to Vancouver almost a year ago. However, the more I thrift, the more I find... and I don't think I'll ever be able to part with some of these second-hand pieces.

There's seriously a whole world out there waiting to be discovered. Go thrifting for a change and watch how addicting it becomes. Happy thrift shopping!

Hey, thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this story maybe let me know by sending a like. Tips are appreciated as well! Bless!

shopping
Like

About the Creator

Jesse Bixby

Freelance writer in Vancouver, BC.

Instagram: @babybix

TikTok: @jessbixby

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.