Styled logo

I Want My Full Size Shirts Back

Let's ditch the crop tops!

By Stephanie DownardPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
7
The latest gossip is full-size shirts.

I'm not afraid to admit my sense of style is pretty lame. My closet basically consists of concert t-shirts and a few dresses that hang there and look pretty. I do have some nice clothes but honestly I don't keep up with all the latest trends. I wear whatever I feel like that day.

Just a few examples.

I mean, the last pictures my family and I took were the weird matchy-matchy outfits. We may as well of had an axe in our hands and wood logs in the background. Even the photographer referred to us as The Lumberjack Family. I'm not sure what I was thinking; it seemed like a good idea at the time.

We're all ready to chop some wood.

As a teenager, I went through a couple different phases. First the emo stage. I wore black every day. I thought it was cool to wear my makeup like a raccoon. I just had to have my nails painted black at all times. My mom sure loved this one. Even more so when I decided to dye my hair super dark purple, right before I went to church camp. I wish I could find the pictures to document this weird phase.

This was my teenage starter pack.

Then there was the basketball jersey phase. I wore boys jerseys and a backwards hat. I didn't even watch basketball. I apparently must of just liked how they looked.

I was so cool.

I eventually mellowed out and kind of combined the both together. My nails don't need to be black anymore, and I learned to do my makeup fairly normal.

See completely normal, just kidding the first one is from Halloween.

I won't lie I still occasionally get men's shirts. I like to cut the sleeves, the sides, the collar, or the back of the shirt. You know to look like a wild animal attacked me. I do always wear a tank top of some sort underneath. You can buy them already cut up, but where's the fun in that. Plus, I'm pretty sure they cost double the price.

Had a play date with Freddy Krueger.

My point is you probably shouldn't take fashion advice from me but there is one trend I would like to see come back, and that is full-size shirts. I'm entirely aware these still exist. I just don't get why crop tops have to be the star of the show. Whether it's online shopping or you walk into a store, BAM right in your face, half a shirt. You see a super cute shirt, but when you check it out you notice, oh it's a crop top.

OMG, Where did the rest the of did my shirt go?

You can even get a crop top sweatshirt. What's the reasoning for that? Do girls go, “Its a chily day. I think I'll wear my half a sweater.”

At least your arms will be warm.

Crop tops have been around for a while. It’s almost a never ending trend. I’m not saying let’s have a crop top burning party or anything. They are cute. It just seems like they are taking over the world. A 6 year old can pick from a selection of crop tops. They are even making a comeback in men. I checked for research purposes only.

Just look at all the style possibilities. 😬

I just miss the good old days where you could go shopping and not have to worry about if it's a full-size shirt. Maybe I'm just mad because I can't rock a crop top. I love food. I've had three pregnancy's so my body definitely isn't perfect. I'm not confident enough to let my tiger stripes shine bright like a diamond. It would just be nice to have an option to get a shirt in full size. I would enjoy a cool AC/DC shirt too. One that actually covers my stomach.

Can we add the other half, please!

I don't know how extensively I could go on about crop tops, but I just need the world to know I want my full-size shirts back! Let's say it louder for the people in the back! “WE WANT OUR FULL-SIZE SHIRTS BACK!!”

trends
7

About the Creator

Stephanie Downard

I'm a mom of 3 plus a bonus son. I've discovered I love writing, and in my free time, that's what I do! I may not be the best, but that will not stop me! It can only go up from here! I hope you enjoy the words that trickle out of my head.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.