Styled logo

Goodwill saved my Prom

Thrift store extravaganza

By A.A.C.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
5
 Goodwill saved my Prom
Photo by Honey Yanibel Minaya Cruz on Unsplash

Shopping is my therapy. I find shopping to help me with so much in life. Whether it is cardio or recreational, Shopping gives me life. My family is obsessed with shopping at the Goodwill. I did not understand why they loved to go to Goodwill. I decided to go with my mom and aunt to Goodwill to shop for essential things: clothes. I am not going to lie, I did not understand why they were into shopping at a thrift store where people sell used clothes, shoes and other products. However, when I went inside Goodwill, I found a lot of things that were nice. Not only nice, but high end designers.

My expectations were met when I went into Goodwill and I saw actual Gucci heels. They were very cute. They were navy blue with the iconic “G” all over the shoes. It also had the red and green logo you would see in Gucci. I also found a Chanel purse. It was very cute. Black with the gold “C”s. It was the type of purse you would take to a cocktail party or an award ceremony. It was tiny. Not going to lie, I was amused.

The bigger issue though, was that I needed a prom dress. Prom was two weeks away and I was freaking out! Honestly, I always imagined that I would have a pink or blue prom gown that was sparkly. I imagined that I would look like the black Cinderella. However, due to the timing, I reluctantly went for any ball gown. Even though I am into high-end fashion, I am also into deals. All I can do is pray that I will find a pretty ball gown. That was all I wanted.

I found a lot of beautiful dresses in Goodwill. To be honest, I found more beautiful dresses at Goodwill than I did in Macys (sorry Macys). I also had other problems where the length, no cleavage, and nothing to salacious were key. My figure made this hard because I have big breasts and butt. I had more than 10 dresses that were pretty, but almost all of them failed to meet the school (and my) standards. Until I got to the last dress.

It was an emerald ball gown. It touched the ground so the length was good. There was a slit on the side but nothing scandalous. The material is silk. There was a diamond in the middle of the dress that was elegant. It was a halter. The dress was elegant. I felt like I was going to the Oscars. I cannot believe that Goodwill would have a dress this extravagant! My mother loved it. She is a very picky woman and for both her and me, who have completely different tastes to agree on the dress, it was a match made in heaven!

The dress cost...drum roll please…$20! This beautiful dress was a steal. I literally saved the best for last! The Goodwill saved my prom and made me feel like a princess. I had so many compliments on the dress, you would have thought I won best dress or prom queen. I did not win either but I did not care. I just felt on top of the world. Goodwill definitely changed my perspective on clothes. Just because it is marked as cheap, it does not mean that it cannot be fashionable. I am now an avid Goodwill shopper and I am not ashamed to say. In fact, I have found plenty of amazing things at the Goodwill: Louis Vutton purse, Calvin Klein sweater, etc. It doesn’t matter where your clothes come from or how much it costs. The goal is to find your own style regardless if it comes from Gucci or Goodwill.

shopping
5

About the Creator

A.A.C.

I want to see if I have a career in writing and put it to the test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.