Styled logo

Fashion Statement of A Zebra

Basics Verses Beauty

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Fashion Statement of A Zebra
Photo by Yamaitrop Vioreenlack on Unsplash

Fashion Statement - Contributing Factors Of Life

From the time I was young I loved putting my moms black and white checkered trench coat on. Hanging on the ground, looking like I had a train following me, I felt like I was a princess.

Black and White so simple - add anything you want to it, and it has become a real pattern in my closet.

Years of working in fashion , I use to bring many different colors home. The go to dress was always a simple black dress, white pearls and black high heels. (feeling rather elegant)

Today I was looking into my closet and thought to myself, I have more clothes for a funeral or a black tie event, than I bet anyone in the world has.

Research is downloading:

I went to my laptop right away to see if there were other people in the world that could possibly have a fashion issue such as mine.

I could not believe that, this is more common than you think. The only difference was they added dark navy, grey or neutral colors. They all called it the quick and easy way to dress for everyday life. For Travelling, Employment and an evening out on the town.

By Rod Long on Unsplash

As I started to pull different pieces of my clothing out of my closet, I started to add different samples of fabric swatches that I had . Go Figure, all but two swatches matched or went well with the two basic colors.

Based on my blondie red hair I had to also make sure that the colors that did not look good with my hair were ruled out. So that took quite a few colors away. Little by little I realized as long as you have something to build on (basic black and white), your wardrobe can grow to look sensational.

Adding scarfs, a light blue blouse with a black pencil skirt looked amazing.

Easy Nine Step Rule For Travel - Was The Reason

Thinking back to my Manager from the fashion industry, she taught us how to sell fashion to a traveler. (nine easy pieces of clothes)

A pair of pants (or shorts), a skirt and a really nice pair of pants. Three tops, one casual and one very dressy and of course one that could be either or. The next items were a dress jacket, a casual jacket and a sweater or wrap that could go either way. So this is when simple black and white came into my life. My wild zebra fashion statement.

It was inexpensive and I could pack it and travel anywhere and look fantastic. Day or Night.

By russn_fckr on Unsplash

Colors And Your Mood

I had been sad for quite some time and looking at the basic colors not only in my closet, but on the walls of my home, started to make me realize why.

Black - made me sad whereas white made me calm.

Light blue- soothing and relaxing, feels like you are at the sea

Dark red - made me feel like my heart was racing with excitement.

Remodeling My Closet And My Home

Now this does not have to be expensive at all. Simple little things added to your wardrobe or to your home, can make a real life changing experience.

Accessories from earrings to bracelets to a hat, can make you look like your ready for the red carpet. Even different colors used in your make up.

By Siora Photography on Unsplash

A little bit of this and a little bit of that and you look fabulous darling.

As for the furniture a throw pillow here and there, of different colors. A nice rug, even a picture or a sign with a neat saying on it, can make your home feel good to both relax - watch a great show. Or throw some bright colors here and there and you are ready to party.

So this zebra and her apparel feels pretty confident and ready to make a few fun changes. For now I have to find a way to organize my closet.

Stay tuned to stories of organizing my life - or putting things away in my closet.

By Sonia Sanmartin on Unsplash

tips

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Cathy DeslippeWritten by Cathy Deslippe

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.