Styled logo

Falling For A Lie

Don’t Believe Every DM

By Angiie Kiiya JonesPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

It’s the coincidences in life that make you ask the question “what if?” The consistent life of being inconsistent has gotten me to a place where I start a venture, my motivation runs out & that’s that, I’m on to the next one.

One morning I said to myself out loud “I want be more consistent with posting, maybe if I become an ambassador for a company that can push me in the right direction to do just that. I could find a brand that says me, something that I can promote and feel proud about. Hmm I should start looking.” It’s at this point I get really interested and start searching, As I enter “ambassador programs” in the Google search bar the excitement unveils in my head and I start imagining the kind of outfits I would receive for free and the amount of followers I can attract just by becoming an ambassdador. Free clothes for any occasion and a reason to post on Instagram, I can’t wait let’s do this! I found the information I needed on becoming an ambassador and I was excited to start looking for the right company soon.

A few days went by and I posted a picture on Instagram, the likes began to grow and I randomly recieved the weirdest comment “Hey hun, you look like a model, DM Us!”

This comment made me smile from ear to ear, “who are these people and aren’t they nice to say I look like a model” let’s see what they have to say. So out of curiosity I followed the link to the profile and DM’d the person. They replied with “We want you to become an ambassador for our company!” My heart pumped so fast and all I could say to myself was “god answered my desires”. Wow, that was actually pretty fast. I spoke with the representative for a little and she explains to me how the ambassador program worked, I was then told to go on the website and was given a code for 30% off your first item in order to become an ambassador. And after that all items would be free. Why not? All I have to do is pay for the first one. As I was browsing the site someone else commented on the same picture “(heart eyes emoji) DM us” Another compliment? Ooo I felt special, so I replied to them as well, and they too asked for me to become an ambassador. I was excited! Two offers right after I propose to make a change, the world is looking out for me like never before! But I’ll sleep on it.

The morning came and there as my alarm rings at 7am I turn to look at my phone to see what’s new and if I recieved any more interesting messages and to my hopes, I did. There were two messages from two different people from the same company awaiting in my inbox, but this time they were offering $300 for me to become an ambassador for their company, all I had to do was apply and start the process and id get my money. Jackpot! This is the one! I was so interested in what this company was so I jumped on the site, and realized this isn’t what I really want to be an ambassador for. But they’re offering me $300.00 and I could use $300.00 right now. I could finally catch up on that one lingering overdue bill. Finally!

As I browsed the site most of the good peices were taken, so I just picked the best looking out of what was left to offer. I responded to the brand manager who messaged me and said let’s do it, I purchased the necessary items which costed me approx $35, which was the last few dollars in my bank account but I said I’d get $300 back so it’s ok it’ll be worth it.

I broadcasted on my Instagram I was the new ambassador of this company and then sent confirmation to the brand manager, to prove I did all the necessary tasks to get my bonus! I asked about the $300 and was told “we will let you know when we will get that out to you”. As any good new employee, I waited. Two days passed but no response about my $300 or the status of my package that I purchased to become an ambassador in the first place. I messaged the brand manager but was told to speak with someone else, that someone else did not respond to my messages until 3 days later “Hey Ma’am I think our brand manager misunderstood the terms of our commissions, blah blah blah...” at this point I realized I was bamboozled! I wasted 35$ on cheap looking jewellery I didn’t even want in the first place for an imaginary 300$, talking to a person who never had the intention on giving me any money. Boy did I just shoot myself in the foot. Ugghhh wasted my last $35 oh man, I guess that bill isn’t getting paid?! Damn.

As days go by I receive more and more messages from other companies asking to be an ambassador and realized they are just all watching and listening at what you desire, once you search for it, you’ll see an ad for it. I should have known, if you want something good you have to work for it.

6 weeks later I receive a weird tiny looking package, i had no idea what it was. I open it and there were 3 tiny measly looking necklaces that look like if you were to accidentally drop water on them they would immediately turn into old pieces of rusty metal. They kind of look like I could have gotten them for $1 each. Definitely the worst purchase to date, and it wasn’t even a legitimate or wanted sale. Yep definitely learned my lesson of doing my due diligence they get you when your least looking, be aware!

shopping
1

About the Creator

Angiie Kiiya Jones

I am an entrepreneur aspiring to be many things, with writing being one of my many interests growing up, this platform is the perfect place to express my thoughts and experiences through my writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.