Styled logo

Don't be a fashion whore!

Why you should never wear multiple designers at one time

By A.A.C.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Don't be a fashion whore!
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Fashion is something that I have a passion for. It defines me as well as gives an appeal that I am that bitch. I fell in love with fashion when I watched Sex and The City and it made me want to learn more about the fashion dos and don’ts. I got my big break when I worked at Saks Fifth. It was like I was in one those movies like The Devil Wears Prada or Confessions of a Shopaholic. When I first worked at Saks Fifth, one of the best pieces of advice that I ever got was: Don’t ever wear more than two high end fashion designers at the same time. I never heard nor understood this. What was the reason? Well, think of cooking: If you put too much seasoning or add too much to a recipe, it can ruin the meal and have so much going on that you can’t enjoy the meal. Having too many designers on you is too much to handle. People wouldn’t know what “your style” is.

Can you imagine wearing Jimmy Choo shoes, Gucci Dress, Versace purse and Tiffany’s necklace all at one time? It’s too much! You do not want too many people on you; hence the phrase my boss taught me “fashion whore”. When you go to a fashion show, do you think the models are going to wear another designer on them? No!

Another piece of helpful advice that I got was: keep it simple. I can wear regular jeans with a cute blouse and Givenchy shoes. It will be fine. You see, I love high end designers but I know to limit the amount of what to wear and it is important to know what to work with. You don’t want to be “peacocking” and showing too much with your look.

Here is the best advice I will give to anyone who wants to know more about fashion. Have one thing you wear that is something that people will talk about. For example, I love spring. One of my favorite things to wear is my pink summer dress and gladiator sandals along with my Kate Spade purse. This Kate Spade purse that I am talking about always gets compliments. I literally get compliments everywhere I go when taking this purse. This is the “eye catcher” that many people focus on because it gives people one focus.

Now, I do not want to make it seem like you shouldn’t wear what you want, but if you want a good fashion tip, choose only one appeal that can catch someone’s eye. Wear a cute blouse with jewelry. Accessorize. These are all easy tasks that one can take when it comes to learning about fashion. The goal is you don’t want to have so many things going on with your outfit, that people lose focus and are not sure what or where to start. It’s like Vegas; there is so much to see that it is impossible to focus on one thing. The best example that I can think of is Beyonce. In her “Crazy in Love” Video, at the beginning you noticed that she wore a plain tank top, daisy dukes, but her shoes were what captured the appeal in her outfit. Having a simple look with just one thing that can catch someone’s attention can go a long way. You can make anything look nice if you can pair and learn the fashion dos and don'ts. After hearing this advice from my old boss, I learned that it does not matter who you wear or what you wear, but how you wear it. Your outfit should give you confidence and a sexy appeal. Whether you are wearing a vintage shirt or a high end designer, do yourself a favor: pair your outfit with confidence.

tips
Like

About the Creator

A.A.C.

I want to see if I have a career in writing and put it to the test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.