Styled logo

Bewitched

by Fashion

By C.T. COLEPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Bewitched
Photo by Jayson Hinrichsen on Unsplash

One of my favorite shows has always been and will always be Bewitched which ran from 1964-1972. Not only was Elizabeth Montgomery a breath-taking beauty and an amazing actress, but her outfits were out of this world. Every time I watch an episode I want to go shopping for a new wardrobe. A wardrobe that includes elegant coats, cute sweaters, poodle skirts, white gloves, tiny purses and as many dresses from the 50’s and 60’s I can get my hands on. I would have so much clothing, in so many colors if I let myself indulge in such an experience that I would need a second job and an actual closet. I had to buy an armoire from JYSK because my house was built on a farm in 1905 without any.

Women in this era always looked amazing. It did not matter if they were 100 pounds or 300 pounds, young or old, rich or poor, they all looked elegant and extremely well put together. Now I don’t want to take away from the women because on top of the fashion the women took a great deal of time on their appearance. While they were busy maintaining a household, spouse, children, and balancing the books, they still managed to do their hair and makeup every day. At the same time, they looked just as elegant with just a pony tail and no makeup.

Still From How to Make a Sandwich Video

I know that I sound old fashioned, but I just feel like people today especially young women give too much of themselves away with what they wear. Why is it that we feel the need to show off so much of our bodies to the world, to the point where we feel uncomfortable in our own skin, even though we would deny it to the death. Sexual attraction is a natural human biological urge that will happen no matter what we wear. When we dress in revealing clothing are people interested in getting to know us or are they just in it for what they think they can get or take from us. It is a worry that plagues me as I sit here and watch as my daughter becomes a teenager and then eventually a woman (depending on what her path’s is). I hope for my sake that she shares my taste in fashion and has the means to fill her wardrobe with the same.

I smile now when I see that some of the great fashions of the world are coming back, like the high waisted, worn out 90’s jeans and belly tops that don’t actually show your belly. I am A-OK the 80’s and 90’s come back as well because I am a fan of all of the color involved in the fashion, the amazing repertoire of music, and all of the crazy hair do’s. It also gives me hope that one day the youth of today will discover other fashions from our history.

Capture of Simplicity Pattern

My favorite fashion era in the end is the rockabilly era. Please someone with the ability to start a trend bring back the rockabilly era. I have seen a few rockabilly shops pop up in the world, even in the small city of Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada that I live in. It makes me happy to think that there are other people in the world that would like to see it come back as well. Lastly, if someone invents, or has invented, a time machine, could I borrow it please, I would like to take a vacation to the 1950’s, I have some milk shakes to drink and some shopping to do!

trends

About the Creator

C.T. COLE

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    C.T. COLEWritten by C.T. COLE

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.