Styled logo

A Perfect Fit

Thrift Finds

By Isobel AckermanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Indie Superstore (Cardiff, United Kingdom)

When it comes to items of clothing, I have always been very picky. Ask anyone. I hate dresses, you will never catch me wearing a pair of leggings (although gym leggings are the exception for me), and you definetly would never find me feeling confident in a thin, long sleeved top or a crop top.

I do think having a style of you own is so important, because not only does it make you feel good, having certain clothes you can appreciate but you can get to know someone through what they wear.

My mum has always tried to inspire me to try new styles or new colours I would never usually wear, and for a while I did wear the clothes she thought I looked good in, but not long after I landed right back into square one, of not feeling it. I was having zero confidents in what I was wearing. Maybe it was the clothes that made me feel that way or even myself, or both. But I never felt like I could confidently walk into the world and enjoy what I was wearing everyday.

Picture this. My go to style on the daily is usually, an oversized hoodie or jumper, a pair of blacked ripped jeans or gym leggings, an old pair of converse or trainors and maybe a denim jacket over the top of my hoodie if I am feeling 'fancy' shall we say.

But one day last year, in December time, I came across this store, on a quiet road, called The Indie Superstore. And me being the person who is on the hunt to find some nice pieces of clothing, went in to have a look inside.

Looking around, there were certain corners of the store dedicated to different types of clothes. Jumpers, jackets, cardigans, jeans, tops, tank tops and so on. The room was just bursting with colours. There was even a little table with handmade jewellery and scrunchies which were hard not buy at first glance. On the walls were amazing art pieces, vintage ornamnets and dazzling neon lights that really brightened up the place.

I remember a guy that worked there, using up a part of the space to finish promoting some new clothes with lights, cameras and backdrops. It really added to the whole vibe of the store, aswell as the funky music and the welcoming staff who were stood behind the counter.

At the time I was looking for a new hoodie to add to my collection of slightly dull ones back at home. Don't get me wrong I love the clothes I have but I feel like someone us get that annual itch of wanting to find something new for a change.

For me, hoodies are like a safety blanket. They are just so comfortable and make me feel happy to be wearing them. I'm sure you reading this have certain items at home that make you feel the same.

I looked on the rack, labelled as 'Jumpers and Jackets', and sort through all the variety they had in stock. There was a variety of colours, sizes and prints on the front. And they were all affordable and reasonably priced. Ranging from £5.00 to £20. The jumper I finally picked up was an old 'RAMS' NFL jumper. Which I think, after some googling, is an LA football team? Not too sure, but something like that.

The jumper I bought for £10 at the Indie Superstore

I was (and still am) obsessed with it. It was an item of clothing I new I would feel confident in. I put it on right after buying it, and I probably ended up sleeping with it on, it was so cozy.

When you find or order new clothes, it is honestly such a good feeling. Adding to your wardrobe or even starting over with a new style you want to try. But just remember, wear clothes that you love, don't wear things you are not comfortable with just because it is the lastest fashion trend or because everyone was wearing it yesterday. Invest in what you honestly love and will appreciate!

shopping
3

About the Creator

Isobel Ackerman

United Kingdom based | Student writer, interested in creative writing and poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.