Styled logo

A One Legged Cat Suit Has No Home in My Closet

Impractical fashion

By Marilyn GloverPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo: Woman in classic catsuit/ DepositPhotos

There has certainly been a lot of interesting fashion trends over the years. Some statements seem to keep recycling through the decades like those who are mad for plaid or the hippie tie dye trend. I can tolerate those in small doses and personally have indulged. Other fads like Uggs which I cannot stand and have never owned, and the low sagging pants with half the derriere exposed get no love from me. Overall, the cringe worthy fringe seen on everything from purses to clothing articles is just about the worse thing I have ever seen, second only to the one legged cat suit.

The classic cat suit is a sleek, body hugging article of clothing that certainly displays every curve of the human body without any skin exposure. It is sexy and sophisticated and can be played up for a night on the club scene with heels and some glitzy jewelry or dressed down with a long cardigan and simple accessories for a more classic appeal. In my personal opinion, the cat suit can go in one of two directions depending on the message you want to send or the particular type of event you are dressing for.

Under no circumstance, however, is a one legged cat suit sexy or sophisticated. I simply cannot wrap my head around the whole concept and do not understand the appeal. Naturally the fashion industry entails taking some risks to find the next big ticket item setting trends for consumers to fawn over but the one legged cat suit just looks like unfinished product to me. Certainly an eye catching and head turning piece without doubt, but for all of the wrong reasons. It leaves me with a huge question: Where in the world are women going wearing these atrocious pieces of clothing?

Let’s explore that idea for a moment. I cannot imagine a woman getting dressed for a day of running errands such as grocery shopping and sporting this one legged garment. Can you really picture strolling along at Wally World and encountering someone in this get up? It most definitely does not work for any kind of event like a family reunion, barbecue or the like. Just imagine what people must be thinking seeing one leg completely naked with just a bit of material below the bum. Surely people will be scratching their heads in astonishment and think about the on looking older generation: complete disaster waiting. Trust me, Grandma and Grandpa will surely never approve!

Should the one legged cat suit be strictly night life wear? Perhaps but even then how practical can this kind of attire be? I mean really, think about it. I question the durability as I imagine a young lady dancing the night away, getting her groove on all while knocking back alcoholic beverages. What if the fabric moves on the open leg side? Does she end up with a wedgie and a butt cheek exposed? I am totally serious here. Perhaps the up side is if she spills her drink on herself then only a partial cleanup job will be necessary. Otherwise, I cannot comprehend having to constantly check my clothing for a potential wardrobe malfunction.

I remember seeing Kim Kardashian and Kylie Jenner on Instagram flaunting the one legged cat suit in a series of pictures to celebrate National Sibling day. I understand they push the boundaries experimenting with fashion but sorry, ladies, these are just so very unappealing. Halle Berry gave life to the classic cat suit in Cat Woman with an alluring sensual appeal. The one legged alternative just looks cheap no matter who wears it like a desperate plea for attention.

I look forward to ongoing trends in fashion and tend to favor classic pieces that can be mixed and matched with other items in my closet. I always have been one to favor unique pieces with practicality and comfort in mind. With this being said, in no situation do I ever see a one legged cat suit as an ideal piece of clothing unless perhaps you would like to get a one legged tan. Otherwise, it is just a useless trend which I hope to never actually see someone wearing as so far I only have seen it in magazines and clothing ads. Honestly in a nut shell, it is trashy and quite a catastrophe for the fashion industry!

trends
Like

About the Creator

Marilyn Glover

7x Medium boosted poet, editor, and Reiki Master who is at her best when in nature. Creating to boost humanity while often not coloring within the lines. Follow me at: https://gmarilyn009.medium.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.