Styled logo

7 Nigerian Celebrities Dress As 90s Nollywood Babes (Photos)

They nailed it

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

90s to Early 2000s Nollywood! You just had to be there. It was WILD.

It’s so funny how much time changes things and gives us newer perspectives about things. Back in the day, Nollywood is heavily ridiculed and our films were called all manner of derogatory names. Now, those same movies that came out many many years ago are being praised and celebrated as some of the most exciting movies to come out of Nigeria.

Names like Regina Askia, Clarion Chukwura, Eucharia Anunobi to name a few pioneered a very exciting time in Nigerian movies and television. That 90s/2000s era is till today known for the very specific type of fashion, hair, dance moves, etc. Again, you had to have been there to fully enjoy it.

Well this year, to celebrate her birthday entrepreneur and influencer Tania Omotayo threw herself a birthday bash where she invited some of her closest friends in and out of the Nigerian entertainment industry. The theme of the party was “90s/Early 2000s Nollywood” and well let’s just say, the attendees definitely took the assignment and ran with it – especially socialite, actress and influencer Toke Makinwa.

Below are the pictures from the birthday bash as well as some videos from the very exclusive event.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Taking to Instagram, the celebrant Tania Omotayo posted this video above with the caption which read:

My NollyWood Disco Party

I had my dream party last night Wow it felt like we were in a 90s/ early 2000 nollywood movie. Ever since I saw the post about someone doing a nollywood themed party I couldn’t get it out of my head. I knew I needed one in my life and I’m so happy that I got it. Shout out to my amazing husband and friends for encouraging my craziness and for indulging in it. Honestly they are the best! Everyone was dressed to the T. I’m so grateful for you guys. Thank you for the most amazing time. To my incredible dj’s and hype man wow words can’t be enough we couldn’t stop dancing, honestly I don’t know what I would do without you! Thank you for bringing my vision to life! @tennycoco you already know it’s a forever thing! My chef b @instalavi for the amazing food and for always going above and beyond for me! My venue @mybuzzbarr of course 🥰 @nayabacosmosphotography thank you for everything! ❤️❤️❤️❤️ to the best squad.

The event was very exclusive and the people who went did not and have still not uploaded a lot of pictures from the day unto their main social media pages, but you know me…I got you!

Here are screenshots from stories of people who were in attendance showing off some of your favorite Nigerian celebrities in their best 90s/early 2000s Nollywood Babes fashion. This is a very good theme for a party and I’m sure after this many people will use it as a theme for their own celebrations.

In the meantime, enjoy the pictures from this particular Nollywood Disco Party. Enjoy!

Toke Makinwa
Toyin Jolopamo
Tania Omotayo
Tania and Toke
Lilo Aderogba
Iyanuoluwa
Andrea Giaccaglia
Adaeze Yobo
Stella Michaels
Lola OJ

That’s All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrity looks
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.