Styled logo

5 Times Seyi Shay's Clothes Embarrassed Her (Photos)

A look back at some fashion failures.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Nigerian singer Seyi Shay has by far one of the most eclectic, fashion-forward, and sometimes controversial styles in Nigerian entertainment today.

From her music videos to her red carpet appearances, Seyi Shay has rocked a number of really out-there outfits. Outfits that have caused gasps, shock, and wonder.

With all those outfits worn, it's impossible for Seyi not to have had any mishaps over the years. Going through her archives, Seyi has really had some spectacular looks over the years, but she has also had some oops! moments.

Here are 5 times Seyi Shay's Clothes embarrassed her.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

1. This Sheer Dress

You'll see pretty soon that sheer dresses are something that Seyi Shay clearly really likes. But in one photo when the singer was out and abut, fans and colleagues alike couldn't help but notice that the outfit Seyi was wearing was a little too sheer. In fact, her entire back and bum was on full display.

The look was so surprising that even OAP Toolz had to comment on the picture saying: Seyi is that your booty I see? Why didn't you wear shimmy??

The picture trended far and wide and that picture still haunts Seyi till this day.

2. Her Presidential Visit Look

Like another female celebrity actress Omoni Oboli, Seyi Shay too was slammed by Nigerians after pictures of her outfit to the 'Meet the President' event surfaced online. People accused Seyi of trying to seduce the president with her outfit. Seyi said in response:

I am a very respectable young lady and I was not in any way trying to seduce the President with the outfit I wore. I had two outfits for the event, one was for my performance and the other was worn after I performed. The dress I was pictured in with the President was what I wore during my performance. I came on stage and greeted everyone according to their culture and I did the same for Mr. President. He was impressed and he asked where and how I knew how to greet in his native dialect and I said I learnt it. That was what brought about the giggling and smiles in the picture. I’m a performer and what I do on stage doesn’t reflect my everyday life. I had two outfits on that day and it was a youth event. Who wouldn’t feel overwhelmed meeting the President? Well, I did and I felt honoured because it is not every day you get to meet the president of your country.

3. Her Black Leggings

Remember when I said Seyi likes a sheer outfit. Well, it was evident again when she took to social media to post pictures of herself working out in what looks to be a normal workout outfit. But then, in one of the photographs, Seyi Shay is seen in the middle of the squat and whoever took the photograph of her really went up close because Seyi's entire backside is pretty much exposed. Fans immediately took notice and begun to slam the singer in her comments for posting such suggestive material.

4. Her Slashed Gown.

When the photo of this outfit where Seyi Shay's legs and side are exposed through slits in her gown dropped on the internet, fans were divided when they saw it. While some people thought there was nothing wrong with the outfit, other people thought it was too provocative and unnecessary.

5. Channel O 2014

By far Seyi Shay's most attacked outfit, Seyi Shay's grand entrance to the 2014 Channel O Music Awards sparked a lot of conversation and criticism. People described the look as "too much", "too revealing", and "indecent" amongst many other things. In fact industry mate Charles Novia was so upset by the outfit that he said:

She said she wants murder and dressed like that? She got her wish. Nonsense and ingredients. Lame thinking for a lame career. Let your talent speak for you always, if you don't have it, nothing can force anyone to accept it.

You build a 'sweetheart brand' which visibly competes with a better rival and then veer off…Let me be frank: that Bad Girl/Boy image never works. You get the lunatic fringe crowd edging you on and then they switch to the next one. You wey dey don form Bad Girl/Boy becomes limp and laggard. You become useless to the present order. That's how it goes. It's what it is.

Yemi Alade, Asa, Omawunmi, Waje didn't need to be near naked to be on top. They were judged on their TALENT and made it. Commendable. Let your talent speak for you always. If you don't have it, nothing can force anyone to accept it. This business thrives on talent not tart.

While some agreed with him and others did not, Seyi herself seemed unphased by his words saying later:

I read some things about me today, I think people should focus more on themselves, than on others. Maybe he was having a rough day.

Clearly, Seyi Shay doesn't send anybody's thoughts about the outfits she wears. Still, we can discuss them.

What do you think about Seyi Shay's looks? Tell me via comment on my Facebook post, I'd love to hear your thoughts.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrity looks
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.