Petlife logo

Zoey

By: Marissa Moore

By Marissa MoorePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

8 years ago, close to Christmas eve, me and my sister walked into our moms house, only to have this energetic dog come running to the door, tail knocking over anything that got in its way. My first thought was that we were just babysitting her and she was staying for a few days. When my mom told us she was ours and her name was Zoey, me and my sister broke down in tears and laughter while petting our new dog. She was nervous at first, not sure where she was allowed to be, but she warmed up pretty quick. Like many new dog owners my mom started with "okay Zoey sleeps in her dog bed...okay she can sleep in our bed" "Zoey isn't allowed on the couches....okay she can come up on the couches." She goes where she pleases and will sit on you or just on your feet so you can't get up.

Through these 8 years me and Zoey have made some wonderful memories. Going for walks, getting her ice cream, watching her flip out over birds, teaching her tricks and many other things. She's my best friend and always cheers me up even when I feel like it's impossible to smile again. One of my favorite memories with her is when she slept with me in my bed for the first time. She typically sleeps with my mom and step dad in their room, but one night I heard her walk into my room and jump into my bed. I was already in bed so she had to situate herself around me. She laid down on my legs, and one of her paws was over my feet, cuddling my legs. She warmed me up and I felt her little twitches as she was dreaming. When I woke up I found her up on the pillow next to me, on her back all spread out waiting for her morning belly rub. She laid with me just cuddling me while I pet her, it felt so peaceful and I wasn't thinking about anything except being there with her. That is until she had her morning sneezing fit right in my face so...that was fun.

I have a lot of memories with my Zoey, lots of sweet ones, funny ones, and emotional ones. She has calmed me down from panic attacks and has stayed by my side if I'm crying. She is always there to greet whoever is at the door with barking and she often picks up a shoe to give to the person at the door. She picks random spots on the floor and just sits and stares at you until she decides its time to run over to you and rub up against you.

About a year ago she had bad bladder stones, she had to go into surgery and something went wrong with the first surgery so she had to go in again. It was terrifying, we were just asking whatever was listening to please make sure our baby was okay. When we picked her up from her second surgery she ran out, tail wagging and ready to go home. We were so relieved, she was back to her original self and healthy again.

She is still my puppy despite her fur becoming white. She is an interesting pup for sure and has brought so much joy into our lives. I don't know what I'd ever do without her. She brings so much joy into everyone's lives, she really doesn't like other dogs so we have to keep her away from them, but she's very sweet to people. She doesn't give kisses but she also doesn't bite, she isn't the most affectionate dog but she has her ways of showing her love.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Marissa Moore

Some stories are written just to be entered into challenges

My ideas for stories tend to be on the darker side, so take that as a you will.

Non binary (they/them)

21

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.