Petlife logo

ZEUS & CHEDDAR

A Short Story

By Lucia KuhlPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Picture from Unsplash

Hi, I’m Zeus, a monstrous tuxedo cat with a magnificent personality. This morning, I was awakened from a well-deserved deep sleep when my keen hunter senses detected the odor of my devilish enemy, Cheddar Chipmunk. He had infiltrated the basement walls of Belle’s Bed and Breakfast in Pair-a-dice, Wyoming.

Before I could uncurl from my after-breakfast nap, I heard the basement door open. I shuddered. “Oh, No,” I meowed. My Human hates chipmunks. And Cheddar knows it. The rotten varmint dashes back and forth across the floor, so he can watch poor Belle dance.

It is not a pretty sight. She dances on her elderly tiptoes, turning in circles, jostling about, waving a broom left and right. She screams so loud I am forced to cover my ears with my paws.

I yawn. I am so tired. Eating breakfast is hard work. But… As her faithful cat, I’m obligated to save her.

With no thought for my safety, I leap from the window seat in the living room and race towards the steps. Belle is still on the stairs. Cheddar is headed straight for her. When her foot hits the cement, he’ll run up her leg. This isn’t my first fight with Cheddar. I know his tricks well. I am Zeus, mighty warrior cat. It’s up to me. I must save Belle. I leap from the top stair. My bodyweight propels Belle against the rail. She wobbles forward. She wobbles backward. She leans right. Her butt drops on the bottom step with a thud.

Cheddar laughs.

How dare he. Only I may laugh at my Human.

I spring.

He runs for the cupboard.

I chase at top speed putting on the breaks before my nose crashes into the cabinet.

He diverts right.

I cut him off.

We stare into each other’s eyes.

“Get out of my basement, runt.”

“I came for nuts. I’m leaving with nuts.”

“The only nut in the basement is Belle,” I say.

“Ha! I don’t want her. She’s too loud.”

He breaks for under the sink.

I leap.

“Get him, Zeus. Get that bloody thing out of my basement,” Belle says.

My paw clutches his tail. I bite it.

“Let me go, lazy cat.”

“No way, fatty pants,” I say through clenched teeth. This time, I have him. This time, I will win. Belle will be so proud. She’ll buy me new catnip.

I pull him backward.

In response, Cheddar wraps his paws around a chair. He turns his head and nips at me. I will not let go. Winning!

Belle swings her broom. And hits me. She hits her faithful cat. The cat risking everything to save her. I fly across the room and land in a pile of old blankets.

Cheddar sits on his hind legs, wraps his front paw across his stomach, and laughs. The nerve!

Rather than coming to my aid, Belle turns around and around and around in a circle swinging the broom. I duck under the blankets. She’s not hitting me again. Her aim, well, let’s say it’s BAD.

Cheddar runs towards the back wall.

“See ya later, Zeus.” He laughs. He smirks. He disappears into the wall.

“I’ll get you.” I meow at him. " I thought this time I really had him. That's the trouble with being too confident.

Finally, Belle scoops me up and buries me in her bosom. “I’m so sorry, Zeus. You were so brave. I’m so proud of my baby. Would a treat make you feel better?”

I shake my head. Humans ask dumb questions. “Well, of course,” I meow. In fact, I deserve a whole bag of treats. And then I’ll finish my morning nap.

By the way, Belle and I are characters in MOTIVE? Book One in Lucia Kuhl’s American Missing Psychic Murder Mystery Series. I only have a bit part, which is criminal because I’m the best and smartest character. Anyway, I’ll be telling you more tales of life in Pair-a-dice. Catch me on Vocal.

I want my own profile. I deserve my own. But I need to be patient. One step at a time.

Until We Meet Again,

Zeus

literature
1

About the Creator

Lucia Kuhl

ABOUT LUCIA KUHL

Lucia Kuhl is the author of fifteen fun, general or cozy-ish paranormal murder mysteries. You can connect with Lucia @ LuciaKuhl.Com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.