Petlife logo

Whitney

A Dog With Soul

By Joshua WheelonPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Whitney
Photo by Rebecca Campbell on Unsplash

I woke up on that Saturday morning, feeling an emptiness inside. I knew that not long from now, my Grandma was probably going to pass away. Could be a minute from now. Could be a few days from now. But we knew that was probably going to happen sooner rather than later. My mother was over at there house taking care of things and I remained home to take care of the dogs but my dad and I might go over at some point to say goodbye.

I did not want to go. I did not want to have to face the fact that I was about to lose one of the most important people in my life. But I knew that if I did not go, I would regret that for the rest of my life. I got up and made my way out to the kitchen. The time was six fifty-three in the morning. A bit later than I usually get up but having no school since they gave me the time off, and the trouble getting to sleep the night before, I was okay with that.

I poured some beans into the coffee filter, poured the water into the coffee machine and started the coffee. I enjoyed the smell of coffee as the black liquid brewed and poured into the carafe. I walked out of the kitchen and down to the end of the room where the dogs were waiting in their pins to be let out. The first two dogs that I let out where Whitney and Yana, our two Rottweilers. They were such loveable dogs any very caring. I opened the laundry room door and let them out into the dog run. I stepped out with them and closed the door. I sat down on the over step and watched them run around to do their business.

That was the moment that all the feelings began to flood in and could not hold the grief in any longer. I began to cry and the tears poured out of my eyes. I covered my head and continued to sob. After about thirty seconds I felt warm furry against my hands and looked up.

Whitney had noticed my sadness and came over to comfort me. I could tell in her eyes that she knew I was sad. She did not know why I was sad but she knew I needed her. She licked me on the forehead and stood there as I embraced her tightly. I loved Whitney and knew that she loved me. I just held tight to her and pet her over and over. Yana eventually joined to.

That was the moment I really understood the value of a good dog. Whitney and Yana could have run around and minded their own business but both of them, especially Whitney, understood the importance of the moment and how much I need them to give me that attention.

A dogs heart is pure and full of love. Mistreated, that can change. But when we show them care and love, they will give the same in return. That’s why an anger fills my heart whenever I hear of an animal being abused. I love dogs, I loved them way before that day, but my love grew at that very moment.

I managed to smile and kiss both of those to girls on the head. I petted them on their heads and then stood up to walk over and scoop their poop before they would decide to eat that. A disgusting habit that they never seemed to break. Then I let them in and finished pottying the other dogs. After all dogs had been pottied, I let Whitney back out with me while I hosed the run off. She deserved that extra time. And she stayed with me every step.

Once I finished with that chore, I went back into the house, poured a cup of coffee and sat on the couch, drinking the coffee with one hand and petting Whitney, who had snuggled up between my legs with the other hand. I looked into her loving and caring eyes and smiled for the first time that morning. I knew in my heart that once she passed, my Grandma would be in a better place. A place with no sickness or sorrow or sadness. A place where we would never hunger or thirst. As I looked into Whitney’s eyes I knew right then and there that she does have a soul. All dogs and cats do. I truly believe that dogs like Whitney could be angels sent down to watch over us.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Joshua Wheelon

I am 38 years and have published my first book. Currently working on the second book in the series. I love to write science-fiction and fantasy books, poetry, and songs. I love to journal for self-reflection.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.