Petlife logo

When 1 Becomes 2

Copper Penny

By Chelsey PeartPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

I had already adopted a white and black kitten a few years earlier when living with my Mum but moving in with my partner into a top floor flat with a strict NO PETS ALLOWED policy meant that my little Bandit stayed in the family home while I flew the nest. After living that top floor life for a year with no bundle of fluff to love and hold each night my first priority and condition of moving once more was that I get a pet.

I signed up to every adoption site I could find but thanks to the coronavirus none of them had pets up for adoption. It was time for plan B!

I looked on Gumtree and after a few weeks of no postings in the area there she was, my hope of having a little kitten. She was in the next town over and was only 2 weeks old at the time of reserving her and like a fool I paid the deposit there and then excited for the day I would get to collect her.

My partner and moved into our new house the week after. We took our time to get settled and after a few days I decided to conact the kittens seller for some updates ... radio silence. I heard nothing. I gave it 3 weeks before I came to terms with being scammed and my search began again.

The weekend after my luck turned around and a posting for three black and white kittens showed up on Facebook. They had been abandoned in a flat and were 15 weeks old. Though they were advertised as nervous I thought one of them would be a perfect addition to our household. I called the lady in charge of this little operation and asked about the process of taking one home only to be told that as one had already been adopted out she was only cosidering applications that would take the remaining two together. My heart broke a little but I understood and was prepared to back down from them when my partner heard and matter of factly stated that we could take two. I was ecstatic. We filmed a house tour, spent a small fortune on toys, food and other necessaties. Two days later they were in our house. A girl and a boy. We already had a girl's name chosen from the failed Gumtree adventure and she became Penny, but our boy was nameless. I wanted something that matched with Penny, we deliberated for a while going through various types of currency (Nickle, Cash, Pound) until we realised that his little moustache reminded us of a policeman and so he became Copper, the colour of pennies.

As they were so nervous we kept them in a dog cage for the first 24 hours getting to know our smell and adjusting to the noises of us. Then we kept them in the living room until they started approaching us and found their favourite spot on the windowsill where they could sit watching the world go by without a care in the world.

adoption
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.