Petlife logo

What my Cats Have Taught Me

True Story of Baby Gee, Shadow, & Missy

By Shirley BelkPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
4
Baby Gee, Missy, & Shadow

I've always been a cat person. I've loved and had to say goodbye to many a good one. After all, I am in my sixties now. Each one, though, has gifted me with something magical. These are my babies now. They will most likely be my lasts. They know they are special in their own little ways and so endearing. (See, I told you I was a cat person!)

I understand cats and they understand me back. I appreciate their independence and lack of neediness. It's also a plus that they are low maintenance...well except for the litter boxes. They don't ask for much, but they do put up a fuss when the little they ask for hasn't been promptly adhered to. They have schedules and they have trained me well.

In return, I get love and affection (as per their personal schedules, of course.) I also get tons of entertainment. And they each have given me a touch of magic, almost spiritual, gift that I have needed.

Baby Gee (the Gee is short for Ganster,) came first in 2005. Have you ever had a longing to have a connection with a tiny ball of fur? Well, it was overwhelming for me. A friend from work had a litter and told me his garage was cracked open and I could swing by his place and pick one out on my way home. I was elated!

I pulled in his driveway and clicked my tongue to call out the kittens. Only he showed up. Instant connection. It was if he'd been waiting for me. On the ride home I promised him that I would never leave him and always love him, and I meant it. I swear he understood and seemed to like me right off the get go. Purrs and head-butts galore.

It wasn't until I heard the song by Toby Mac, "Made to Love," that I "heard" what Baby Gee was meant to teach me. Part of the lyrics go like this:

"That I was made to love you, I was made to find you

I was made just for you, made to adore you

I was made to love and be loved by you?

You were here before me, you were waiting on me

And you said you'd keep me, never would you leave me

I was made to love and be loved by you

(And be loved by you) "

I was astounded and touched deeply that this precious kitten was teaching me ...I had been created to love and be loved from the outermost of the universe to the inmost. And, that was fifteen years ago. We are still going strong :)

Shadow was next, in 2013. My mother had just passed away and after the funeral, my husband didn't quiet know how to help me with the grieving process....so without discussing it with me, surprised me with a rescue older kitten from the pound. And, as the story often goes, who was really rescued? Me, of course! Shadow taught me, like Lauren Daigle's chorus in the song, "I Will Rescue You," and it goes like this:

"I will rescue you

I will shelter you from the rain

I will dry your tears

Cast away your fears

And bring you to brighter days

Whenever you're lost and confused

Like a fairy tale come true

I will rescue you

And it don't matter where you are

I'll be by your side

I'll be the rock that you can lean on

I'll be your guide"

Shadow is my lap cat. A strange little fellow, a straw thief, and a reach out and grab you kind of guy. He is comfort. My comfort kitty.

And lastly, but never least, there is Missy. Another friend, who loves animals and has a house full of them, had a rescue mama cat and her babies. I told Kim that I would take one...always room for one more, right? I asked her to give me the one she didn't think anybody would want or that would be the hardest to adopt out. But she must not have heard my request, because Missy is quiet the coquette and the boss, and was the prettiest one in the bunch. I would say that she was not quiet feral, but certainly timid and will not allow you to hold or cuddle her. But she does love tummy rubs. If I cough and clear my throat, she always meows, as if to say, "Are you okay, Mama?" (Or maybe she's saying, "Shut up , old lady...you're interrupting my snooze?")

She was so very tiny when I brought her home. It was instant love for Shadow. He became mama to her. She allowed it after a few hisses. Baby Gee, on the other hand, cannot be bothered with the underlings. But even when the boys are in their own spaces, Missy will be nearby, desiring to be close to me (but from her own space.) Her lesson to me:

Thank you, Missy, Baby Gee, & Shadow

cat
4

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.