Petlife logo

What I Wished I Knew Before Owning A Cat

Cats are unpredictable, remarkable creatures that aren't like any pet I have ever had. Here are some things I wished I knew sooner.

By Haylee MarickPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
What I Wished I Knew Before Owning A Cat
Photo by Manja Vitolic on Unsplash

I have owned many different pets. Dogs, fish, cows, pigs, horses, and now cats. Out of all of them, cats are the most unpredictable. They have "zoomies", points where they want attention and points where they don't, and many more crazy behaviors.

Most cats have what is referred to as "zoomies". Now I had heard of these and was somewhat prepared for them, but unlike dogs that are usually up when you are cats do what they want. Up at 2:30 am running around the whole house for no reason. The first time this happened I was awoken from a deep slumber when I heard a small freight train running through my halls. I was not prepared for that. I remember watching my cat, Butterscotch, running around and thinking something wrong. Nothing was wrong she just had a lot of energy. Be aware these happen often and at random times.

The attention only when they want it was very foreign to me. Most animals love attention and want it all the time, but cats only want it when they want it. When cats don't want your attention they might hide or get aggressive. I was definitely shocked. Sometimes I want to give her attention and I can't find her. It's okay now but it surprised me in the beginning.

Cats are curious and come to investigate when they hear or see you doing something. This in itself isn't what caught me off guard. It was rubbing on my hands or walking on what I was doing that was new to me. Most animals won't do this, but cats will.

Another thing is the kneading. They use their claws and do a massage-like motion. It does hurt a bit. I didn't know cats did that. I did some research into why and it makes more sense. Cats knead to show comfort and contentment. I find it endearing to know she does it to let me know she's comfortable. I put a pillow or another layer so it doesn't hurt me so badly.

Cats have claws and what else do they love to do with their claws other than kneading? Scratching. They scratch everything. I bought a scratching post and it's used often. Like all the time.

Scratching post example

Cats love their space. So, build your cat an area of its own. My cat has its bed, food, and litter box in a personal space. Maybe fit it with some fairy lights and a radio. Litter boxes are important to a cat but cleaning them is very important. They are smelly and get gross if not cleaned normally.

Taking care of animals is often time rough on the wallet but cats are pretty costly. Between litter, food, treats, and toys. They are costly. Just as a warning.

Cats go into heat a lot. Cats go into heat around February to October. In periods of 2-3 weeks periods. Cats can have 2-3 litters a year depending on conditions. These litters can have 1-8 kittens. I recommend getting your cat spayed or neutered and saving yourself some hassle.

Balance is a cat's specialty. They will get themselves into situations that look extremely dangerous that you might want to help them out of, but trust me they love those places that just baffle me on how they do it.

Cats are incredible. They need space but cuddles. Curious creatures that like to be involved with everything you do, but on their own terms. Cats are unpredictable, but good companions for people. I hope that some of my experiences can ease the worry and confusion of becoming a new cat owner. If you only retain one thing from this its cats are independent but also really want to show you they love you.

cat
Like

About the Creator

Haylee Marick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.