Petlife logo

What do you do with left overs and scraps...

Without feeling like your wasting?

By Our Happy ArkPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

So I’m sure as some of you can imagine, every meal prepared in our house is in portions large enough to feed an army! 5 kiddos can eat through a lot of food each month. Not to mention they all favor different tastes. My kids are very opinionated and just like every other person around the world, they each like to voice what they like or don’t like. So when ever I find a new recipe I like I try it and if they like it then it’s a keeper.

I am one of those moms that brags that their kids have amazing appetites and are very active. But the down side is there are sometimes so many left overs and scraps that I felt for a long time I was throwing away so much food I would offend some people around the world that don’t get as much food as us.

So I started searching. I looking into composting but there is only a fraction of what my family eats that can go into it, and my dogs love the meat leftovers but what about the stuff that they can’t eat either.

Pigs? I heard they were messy animals that a lot of people don’t want to associate with. I have chickens, I have a goat and rabbits, why not try a pig. They can eat almost anything a human can and it wouldn’t be going to waste if we processed it the same way we process the rest of our home grown meat.

So we bought our first pig. At first she was tiny. Then she started to get bigger, but she loves to eat. There isn’t a moment that doesn’t go by that she won’t eat lol.

Also, I have come to learn they only like to use one corner for their bathroom, don’t sweat so during the summer they love a good old fashioned mud hole, and that’s it.

No stink. No fuss. No guilt from left overs. It’s amazing. So now I know. All you need is a strong enclosure and shaded area and they will be extremely happy. They are really smart too. One thing I’ve noticed about my Hunky (that’s what my son wanted to name her), is that when I’m out side if she sees me she will scream out to me. So fair warning, if they are hungry or thirsty they will speak their mind lol.

Something else that we noticed is they are very solid animals as well. Going from having dogs, cats and rabbits for a while it was different to try to grab my piglet for the first time to realize there was no scruff. Her neck felt like solid muscle. 😳 It was a little unexpected so if you have never had a pig or been around one that is something to take note of. The best way to grab a pig by the leg.

Pigs grow extremely fast though so that is one thing to be aware of right away. Pigs eat a lot so if you are not the type to have a lot of scraps or even a lot of scraps you also have to compensate with animal feed to get the daily nutrients needed. One main staple that is good for pigs is soybean or it’s lesser healthy but cheaper option, soaked corn.

I have huge plans for once I start to develop my land. I want to have a whole quarter acre dedicated to the pigs. I love ant at least two females and one male. A pigs pregnancy is only 3 months 3 weeks and 3 days so there is opportunity to start a breeding program pretty fast.

Let me know what you think or what your questions are regarding piggies and I’ll get back to you right away. Or if you have any questions on the way I do other things to produce for the family please feel free to comment below and I will either reply or post a new story related.

Thanks again for coming to hang out....

- Sophia

Mother from Our Happy Ark

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.