Petlife logo

WE WERE LOST AT POINT MCKENZIE

We were going in circles in the Alaska Rain Forest

By rose m lewisPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
Like
WE CAMPED AT POINT MCKENZIE

It was getting late and we were way behind schedule. My daughter called at the wrong time, but I talked to her anyway. I told her we are going to camp at Point Mckenzie to go fishing for Rainbow Trout. She said for us to have fun! I said we will but we need to get on the road soon! My husband wanted to get on the road as soon as possible. I had everything ready to go all I had to do was to put everything in the car. We were also taking Nicholas, was a white Toy Poodle. I picked him up and put him in the car. Nicholas loved to ride in the car. He also liked to go camping and fishing with us. Finally, we were on the road to Point Mckenzie, it was only one hour's drive. My husband drove onto Knik Road and on to Point Mckenzie and then to the lake. I looked for Moose but I did not see a one. We finally reached our destination, and we found a great spot to camp. After we put the tent up and the tarp he built a fire so we could have a cup of coffee. After the coffee was done, we sat drinking it and it was so good! Nicholas loved to lay on my lap and he liked sleeping on the foam mattress in the tent. I put my dog Nicholas into the tent and he made himself comfortable. I had my coffee and a snack and was talking to my husband. My husband said to me he wanted to go fishing. I told him o.k but not to stay out too late! He left and I finished my coffee and I went into the tent to take a nap.

Nicholas was glad to see me, we both fell asleep for a while. I woke up hearing my dog bark. I got up, put Nicholas outside and, made the fire. The fire was easy to make, all I had to do was to put some paper on it and then some wood. I had the fire going pretty good so I proceeded to get the chicken ready and put it on the grill. I was cooking potatoes to go with the chicken and vegetables. I was hoping my husband would come so he could eat with me. The dinner was ready then I saw my husband walking to the campsite. He was caring two Rainbow Trout, he went to the cooler and put the fish in it. I would cook them tomorrow in butter, with salt, and pepper. I would cook rice with the fish we would have a great dinner! As for now. dinner was ready and it was time for us to enjoy a good meal! After I ate I fed Nicholas some chicken he liked it. He swallowed the chicken fast until there was nothing left. He loved the chicken, then we sat around the fire, we talked, and had a good ole time! I asked my husband about fishing, and he said it is pretty good. I said to him I can not wait to go fishing tomorrow and catch a Rainbow Trout. We talked for a while longer and then went to bed.

We all slept like babies even Nicholas was sleeping. He was sleeping under the covers, he loved sleeping under the covers. If Nicholas got to close to my husband toes he would bit them! I would hear my husband yell ouch, I just knew the dog bit his toes. My husband said to me please get your dog! Nicholas did like women better than men! I tried to get Nicholas to stop biting my husband's toes but he still did. I finally gave up because he would not listen to me. We finally got up, I put Nicholas on his leash because I did not want him running away. My husband started a fire so we could have coffee. After I had my coffee I cooked breakfast, I cooked eggs, bacon, and toast. After we ate, we went fishing for Rainbow Trout. My husband put the canoe into the water. The lake was so calm, we rowed to the middle of the lake. We put the fishing lines in the water, I was doing a jiggling motion when all of a sudden my line jerked I had a fish on the line. I yanked on the line to hook the fish in the mouth. The fish flew into the air, I wanted to get the fish in the boat. Finally, I was able to get the fish in the net and in the boat. It was a keeper so I put the fish in the cooler, I held the fishing pole and cast my line again. We fished some more and we were able to get a couple more nice fish. We were getting hungry so we went to shore. When we got to shore my husband said let's go for a short hike. I told him ok but make it short.

We banked the canoe and walked into the woods, my husband was carrying his rifle in case of Bears. We walked for about half an hour, with Nicholas following us. I asked my husband if he had a clue where we were going. He said to me, no but it is a nice day and maybe we will see a Bald Eagle. I told him if we did not see one when we were in the canoe chances are we will not see one in the woods! We walked and walked, I was getting tired and Nicholas was too! I told my husband I wanted to rest on the log. He said alright and he watched out for Bears and Moose. I asked him if he knew the way out and he said no! I said why didn't you put markers on the trees so we could find the way out! My husband said to me he thought he did not need to do it. At that point, I knew we were in a little bit of trouble! I was scared that we were going to be stuck in the woods all night! I asked him if he had a compass he said no. I said to him you go hunting all the time and now you don't have a compass! I told him he had better find a way out of the woods right now! He said he will try to find the way out of the woods. I got up and walked to him and hugged him! Well, I said to him let's start walking again. So we did and what I saw was the same log that we walked past a while ago! I told him I think we are walking in circles. He said to me maybe we are I told him yes we are walking in circles! Then all of a sudden Nicholas walked ahead of me, he went back and forth. My dog was barking a lot, and that is when I took the hint told my husband I am going to follow Nicholas. My husband said ok we will follow him. We followed Nicholas and in time at all, we were out of the woods and on a dirt road. We walked up the dirt road and then I saw the campsite. We ran to it and I ran under the tarp and sat down. We got to the campsite just in time before the rainstorm came.

Nicholas saved us from getting all wet and cold, I could not be happier! My dog was a hero that day he knew just where to go! To this day I am glad I followed him and I knew he was a smart dog. Poodles are very intelligent they have a college degree! Nicholas lived until he was sixteen years old when he died. The day that Nicholas died was the sadist day of my life. He died because he had cancer. I am dedicating this story to my loving dog Nicholas! He was a wonderful friend and a great companion. He was part of the family for many years. He was a Christmas present given to me by my mother-in-law. When she gave him to me I cried, I was so happy. She raised toy poodles and she knew I wanted him. I had many wonderful years being with him, going camping and fishing. I too was his master and best friend and I will never forget how good of a dog he was! I loved him very much and I still do!

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.