Petlife logo

Under Pressure

How Diamond was made.

By Frisca RiosPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Under Pressure
Photo by Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

Diamond Had It Ruff

How someone quickly got attached to an “ugly dog.”

This story is about a friend of mine who got his girlfriend a dog because of me. You could've called me a stray dog, but only because at that time in my life I was homeless. This gentleman opened his door, and offered me a place for as long as I needed. It wasn't a grand place, however, it was a grand gesture. Unfortunately, it put him in a sticky situation on the simple fact that he had a girlfriend, and since – “I was another female in her man’s space.” Before we all knew it, she was breathing down my neck while my friend felt like she had her hands around his. Now let me set the record straight. My friend and I were, and still are, no more than just friends.

To ease the tension, he went out and got her a dog which I thought it was another grand gesture on his part, but to her there was no price to pay for bringing another woman into his home, and the look on her face only added more pressure. “She’s too small. I like big dogs, and she’s not even cute.” Then she said that where she was staying at, she couldn’t have a dog. “What were you thinking?” She said. A nice “thank you” would have been better, but she gets even more mad at him because the poor dog was “ugly.” That was just not right.

The cold part about it was what she did next. Out of anger, she left with the dog leaving my friend with the assumption that she was going to get rid of the dog. My friend was either regretting letting me in or getting her the dog. Either way, my friend for being a good guy was not having a good time, and was now just as concerned for the dog as he was for me. Would she hurt the dog or let something happen to the dog? It only gets worse. Don’t worry, the dog doesn’t ever get hurt. However…

I assured my friend that the least she would do is sell the dog, but she wouldn’t hurt it. I mean, she was pretty mad, but she didn’t know me, the human. I'm sure she would have done something to me before doing something to the poor innocent dog caught in a crossfire. We came to the conclusion that if she could make some dollars in the process she was going to collect. Still it left my friend's heart broken and he was confused. We knew better. She was not about to do something to jeopardize possible money. For her is was just to ruffle my friend’s feathers.

Since she hadn’t thought it through properly, she found herself in a dilemma. She couldn’t have a dog where she was going, at the same time she had no where to leave her dog. The solution, to leave the dog in the car. They made the car as comfortable as they could for her. Leaving her food and water, a bed with a blanket for her, and some toys. She also tried as well as she could to explain to her new pet that she would be back for her, not to be scared, and everything was going to be fine. Not sure if she was trying to convince herself or the dog. They cracked the windows to make sure she wouldn’t suffocate in the car. Hesitantly, they walked to their place to rest, and hoped that no one stole the car. Sometimes, for some odd reason, we don’t follow our instinct. And it’s not like, the dog is the same thing as a baby.

Well, maybe, almost, just a slightly insignificant indifference. When the morning came, they anxiously walked to where they had parked, but the car was gone. Panic mode kicked in and she was scared. The search for, now her dog, began hoping that she was okay, and hoping her dog wasn’t scared. That kind of sounded like “mommy mode” to me. She showed up at the house and she was erratic. “What do I do?”

Needless to say, the dog was safe. Only now she was sitting in “jail" having to get “bailed" out. Let me tell you. I had never seen someone stress so hard over a pet they didn’t want. It was almost comical. However, given the circumstances, we dared not laugh. This woman never thought that she couldn't get her dog bag. Rather she was looking for a way to to bust her out of there, and she made it her mission to get her dog back. “Even though, she's ugly?” We mocked her. Her response was, “She really isn’t ugly. She just has an under bite and skeleton teeth.” We were only making light of things. This woman really gets down when she is focused, determined, and I think her motto was “by any means necessary.”

How she did it, I would rather not say, but that little dog walked out of the SPCA with her owner wearing a collar with diamonds (fake of course). She was proud of what she had to do for new companion who only shined even more under pressure (I think she was refering to them both), and was given the name Diamond.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Frisca Rios

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.