Petlife logo

Unconditional Love

New Experiences

By Jessica EdingerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Teaching a New Dog Old Tricks

When Ranger joined our family, I had no idea what an impact he was going to have on my life. I was raised with a dog in the family, but the last time we had a puppy I was just a child. My younger brother had been asking for a dog for Christmas for awhile when my mom decided she was going to give in and get him and evidently the who family a puppy last year. After a few weeks of searching and researching we found a puppy. She went to pick him up while I was the only one that was aware of the surprise she was going to bring home with her.

Even though it was quite an adjustment, having a puppy of only a few months in the house gave us all a burst of life. I remember my dad stating that he would tell his coworkers he looked forward to going home after work to play with the puppy. My mom enjoyed all the extra cuddles that she was now receiving from both dogs. My younger brother stepped up, reluctantly, to take care of the puppy. Even though he complained about having to get up in the middle of the night he loved Ranger from the moment my mom walked in the door with the puppy in a box. Being a dog lover my whole life, and even having a dog sitting business on the side, I knew it would just take some time to connect with the puppy as he needed to adjust to his knew environment.

Now Kenny, our older dog, has been amazing adjusting to having a puppy in the house. Just earlier in the year we dog sat my brother's dog for three months. He is not quite as young as Ranger, but still much younger than Kenny. All of us joked that even though Kenny was very curious when Ranger was brought home he must have been thinking 'Oh my goodness you brought another one into the house'. He definitely knows how to voice himself to Ranger when he isn't up for playing or just needs some space. Over the last year they have become great friends. Ranger always whines and cries when Kenny goes outside or on a car ride without him. Kenny even initiates some of their tug of war session now.

I have loved the connection I have grown with both dogs: subtle gentle cuddle sessions with Kenny and energetic playful moments with Ranger. Hearing Ranger searching for me in the house or roaming in my room to check on me makes me feel less alone and appreciated. Dealing with anxiety this past year having both of them to lean on for love and support I feel like has made a huge impact in my life.

Something I have enjoyed since Ranger joined our family is seeing him experience things for the first time - sometimes having to remind myself that he still isn't even two years old yet. Just a month after him coming home we had our first snow day. We already knew he enjoyed being outside, just not alone, so to see his joy in the snow brought a smile to all our faces. He was sniffing and licking the snow seeming to ask us 'what is this white stuff '. To then enjoy catching snowballs like they were toys, as we tossed them in the air, which even encouraged Kenny to join in playing catch.

Similarly, Ranger's fascination in the fall was just as exciting. He would investigate the fallen leaves in the backyard and try to catch the ones he saw falling from the tree. He would even chase after birds even though they were clearly out of reach. Which has led to him loving window watching everything going by or even just sitting on the back porch observing his environment. Even though it can be exhausting sometimes his extensive energy is refreshing and motivational. Ranger was enjoying being out in the fall leaves so much I even had a little photoshoot with both dogs, trying to capture them digging their noses in the leaf pile and trying to catch leaves as I tossed them into the air.

Even when Ranger is pooped out from a day of curiosity and playing he is the cutest thing to look at. He is a huge cuddle bug and wants nothing but to be close to someone, whether it is Kenny or one of us. His wagging tail, goofy faces. and floppy ears really show off his personality. I can't imagine my life without him now that he has captured my heart. I look forward to being able to take him places as he gets older, to explore even more and capture more memories with him.

dog

About the Creator

Jessica Edinger

I started writing a blog last year, with many interested, I hit on a handful of different topics. Since then, I have started writing 2 books, 1 book series, and a cookbook. I am enjoying exploring topics and my creativity!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jessica EdingerWritten by Jessica Edinger

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.