Petlife logo

To all the lost but never forgotten pets of the world and their owners.

Those that leave their mark on your soul.

By Ellenrose HillPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Felix liked sitting in the oddest of places, had friends in all shapes and sizes.

##

A journey of the self through Felix the half Siamese

Little did I know, but sure was I in for a rocky road at the age of 12 all things of certainty was about to change.

When we see a kitten, what do we do? Well, if your me, you turn into a pile of awe-inspired goo, and you want to be friends; that’s normal, fair? Seeing this little scrappy dark grey dirty kitten was a highlight of visiting my bestie at the time. She’d get fed outside my mates’ neighbours, and my inner interrogator would come out. I soon found out my assumption that she was a stray was correct; she was found down an unused railway track. Unfortunately, the household would feed her, yet, her cat being very territorial, would not allow poor kitty.

Smart little kitty must’ve seen my soft spot like a beaming welcome party as she followed me down the road upon leaving my friends. Now I got very concerned for this poor little scrap of fur because main roads were coming up ahead of me. I tried to deter her like, “go on”, “go back now”. “I love you too, yes, but you can’t follow me”.

I had two cats at home, Sweetie and Suki, from a local Cats Protection who said they were best friends and had to be housed together. I wasn’t about to start a Cat Café at my parents, so the kitten’s shooing continued. To advise you, this broke my heart in the same way Arya from GoT’s had to shoo Nymeria away. I wasn’t physical; no rocks were involved.

A couple of days repeated on like this to the point I told my mom when I got home, and this time the little fella was stood behind me. I was super scared at this time, rocking up at home with a stray; I mean, in hindsight could’ve been a whole lot worse... Also, I think now that my mom’s heart would’ve been melting too, for several reasons, but who could break a true companionship like this?

She stepped inside the home with pride and didn’t ever stray far again after that point. That day we washed the kitten and found her to be a brilliant white and black cat with a cute Madonna spot. We later took her to the vets that told us she was only 6 -8 weeks and half-Siamese.

She was crafty and intelligent and liked her food. I named her Felix; my dad called her Razor Ruddock. From that day, she joined the family; she helped me through every argument, assignment and heartbreak, and all the abuse and lonely times. I suffer from Ankylosing Spondylitis and suffer from chronic pain. Felix would lie on my back and give me soft paw massages, and in the night, when I would become restless from the pain, she would curl herself up against my back like a hot water bottle. She was my best friend and my silent healer.

Felix stayed with me all the way up to the latter stages of my first pregnancy. I felt like it was her way of saying it is up to you now. That emotional pillar she had been for me now required me to be that for my son. It’s hard, and now with two little ones, I miss your company, Felix. When things get so hard, I can’t vocalise; you used to stay close, and it’s like you knew my pain, and regardless you’d always be there. For a few years now, I’ve been struggling silently because I felt no one would understand…

At the end of her life, a new one was born, Maximus, my son and dare I say it, he has traits like Felix did, for example, pulling the curtains down to symbolise they want something…

Yet, it is for me to share my struggles to be on top form for my little ones.

Felix, you’ve taught me that no matter how much someone is struggling, it’s not about finding the right thing to say; it is about your presence being enough to help them on their journey. You’ve taught me that alone we can get there quickly, but we will always go far together.

Forever in my heart -

To all the lost but never forgotten pets of the world and their owners.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Ellenrose Hill

Reflect with Love; Develop through Knowledge.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.