Petlife logo

Thurman

My Step Dog

By Mariann CarrollPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Author photo of Thurman

I met Thurman in summer2011. Thurman was my ex boyfriend’s dog.

Thurman had a house. My ex boyfriend was an alcoholic at the time. My ex boyfriend had an irresistible charm. I feel in love with Thurman the first day, I met him. I loved him with fleas and all. I had a dog of my own Snowy.

Thurman is a German Shepherd mixed with husky. He was not afraid of anything. He was very gentle with children and elderly. He had killed oppossum, groundhog and a neighbor ferret.The neighbors ferret escape from their window and ran into Thurman’s dog house that was in the front yard. Thurman had to be in the front yard so he sees everything. Thurman dog house was in the back but he find away to escape.

I moved in with my boyfriend the fallowing year. The first thing I did was took him a bath. My ex boyfriend told me it’s hard to take him a bath. I told him don’t worry ,I am used to taking dogs bath. I took off Thurman collar and place him in the bathtub. Boy was Thurman filthy dirty, if I can used those two words at the same time. The water was pitched black. I wash him twice with the dog’s shampoo. He let me dry him off with two towels. Thurman had a lot of hair. I brush him after a dry him.

Thurman let my dog Snowy , know that upstairs was his territory. My dog was a very gentle dog , very well manner , accept when a female dog was around. Snowy was older than Thurman by 6 years. We had two dog beds but Thurman like to sleep on top of Snowy like he was not there.

I like going to the park with my dog and I would take Thurman along. My ex boyfriend and I would take our dogs to the dog park together. Thurman don’t know how to get along with other dogs, so we had to take him out before he start dominating them. We have taken him on canal walks but we had to hold on tight to his leash, when we come across other dogs.

My ex boyfriend told me he ran away a lot before , I came along.Thurman ran only once and we were so sad, finally we got a call from the pound. Thurman is known at the pound. My ex boyfriend had to pay over $200.00 to get him back from the pound. The kennel board fees. Thurman was gone for two days.

Thurman did not like car rides, he gets high anxiety on car rides. I seat with him and calm him down. You cannot keep Thurman in the house alone either. I had to break him end. He used to break door noobs and window treatments. The blinds get broken just so he see everything outside. We used to put my dog Snowy in a crate to keep him safe, Thurman found away to let Snowy out of his crate. Thurman had calm down a lot . He is high energy dog. When you let him out, he ran around the house over five times.

He does not eat his dog food until every body is home , when I first live in the house. Year later, I get home from work his dog bowl is empty. When my ex boyfriend come home drank, Thurman stay away from him and stay by my side. I fell in love with Thurman. He just needed someone to love him. My ex boyfriend did not have patience for Thurman ,could not take care of Thurman. We broke up but I ended up taking care of Thurman. I give him best care I could. He had to take medication for his joints. Thurman had a stroke and we had to put him down. It was a rainy night. I cried the whole time. He give me the look like he don’t want to go. My ex felt it’s time to put him down. Thurman was his dog, I was there to comfort Thurman, it took two shots to put him to sleep. Thurman was a special dog. He hold a special place in my heart.2019 I got spend 8 years with Thurman.

dog
3

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.