Petlife logo

There's WFH and then there's WFH with a needy pup

Paws to the face, finger nibbles, and hand licks are all part of my day-to-day work life with my puppy

By wanderlusterPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - October 2021
21
Arlo Moon, my furry best friend

Arlo Moon is my child. He's a little different in that he has four legs, is furry, can't speak proper English, and has a tail, but he's my son nonetheless. And in case you're wondering, yes, I am a crazy dog lady who spoils Arlo and often prefers his company over that of nearly anyone else. And because I am fully remote, I spend all day, every day, with Arlo (and I wouldn't have it any other way).

Momma and Arlo

Arlo is a mini-sheltie mix, but don't tell him that. He's convinced that he's a Great Dane or a Bernese Mountain Dog who can take on any dog out there. Arlo is sassy, confident, and very protective. He also has an attitude that can't be beat. But under all that, he is the most loving and adorable little man out there.

He's an energetic little man who won't let me start my day without first going on his morning walk, eating his breakfast, and having me chase him around while pretending to steal his toys. If I am feeling extra tired, he jumps in the back seat of my car to get his morning treat from Starbucks while momma gets her energy boost (a cafe vanilla bean frappuccino with an extra shot. I'm powered by espresso).

One of my favorite things about Arlo is that he is so needy. It doesn't matter if I'm sleeping, working, working out, or eating—Arlo needs my attention and love. So, if I deviate from this morning routine, he lets me know that it is unacceptable. Here's how:

  1. He paws at my chest to get my attention, and when that doesn't work, he paws my face. Another reminder that I need to trim his claws (and I do mean claws). But, I mean, look at that face. How could I possibly be mad at him? I give in every time.
  2. He lays across my keyboard if I am working on the couch. If I'm at my desk, he jumps up and starts licking my fingers or play-biting as to say, "These hands were made for petting only. Pay attention to me!" Again with the face.
  3. He stares...hardcore. This is perhaps the most distracting move of all because he knows that I can't resist that face. This typically leads to us playing with his toys, taking a quick walk, or chasing each other around the apartment for a few minutes.
  4. Cameos on work calls. I think it's pretty obvious by now that Arlo needs to be the center of attention. That doesn't change, even when I'm on a Webex call. He loves the "He's so cute!" chants and everyone staring at him. It truly is his red carpet experience, and he can't get enough of it.
Arlo Moon

Arlo is incredibly distracting, there's no denying that. But he also is so inspiring. He brings so much joy to my day. So, while you may be reading this, thinking, "Huh, I wonder how she gets any work done during the day," I am actually more productive than I have ever been.

It is because of Arlo that I can focus when I need to. Giving him attention when he needs it gives me a mental break, but it also makes him happy enough to let me work for an hour or so before the inevitable smack to the face with his furry paws.

I mastered the art of working remotely almost two years ago when I started a new remote job, but working remotely with a puppy is entirely different. It requires patience and love, but it is very doable. I'm fortunate to love what I do so much that it doesn't ever feel like work, so I view my day as splitting it between my two loves: writing and Arlo Moon.

Sometimes, that means hourly walks and potty breaks, but on some days, it means letting him cuddle up next to me while I write a new email campaign. But one thing remains the same: My attitude and my productivity are supercharged thanks to my little Arlo Moon.

dog
21

About the Creator

wanderluster

Hi there, I’m Sheena. I'm an Ohio born and bred creative and old-school writer who prefers the smooth flow of ink on paper over the clickity-clack of typing on a keyboard. I love travel, typewriters, and doughnuts. Get my ebook!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.