Petlife logo

There's always room for one more, right?

No matter the space, a dog who loves water will get the water...

By Stephi DurandPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Charlie

Having dogs has been some of the best times of my life. While I love and adore the cat we have now, I know cats will never replace the love for dogs I hold so dearly in my heart.

I've had three dogs over the years. Bruce, a German Shepherd Collie Cross. Charlie, a Chocolate Labrador, and Jerry-Lee, a German Shepherd.

Today, I'll be focusing my story on Charlie.

For those of you who understand that dogs are family, I can tell you that Charlie was the best brother a kid could have.

Whenever someone was unwell, he'd be there, ready to lie on your feet (and snuggle under the duvet) to keep you company the best way he could.

Ready for a snuggle, as always

The dog who came 2nd place in a waggiest tail contest. He almost had 1st place once, but as the woman approached he decided to lay down. I was devastated, but he didn't care, because he just got a whole load of fuss on a nice day at a park.

But if there was one thing you knew about our Charlie, it was this. His love for water. Puddles, lakes, bubble baths. The boy loved his water.

While our other dogs always hated bath times, he was ready and waiting. Charlie would happily lie in the bath, surrounded by bubbles as he let his head bob on the water. Me or my mum washing him down with a flannel as he thoroughly enjoyed his moment of bliss. Puppy paradise, even if he wasn't a puppy.

Once bath times were over, he'd do a massive shake -- or two -- and race around the house. Unless we managed to distract him with the hairdryer first. Oh yeah, he loved bathtime.

Something you should know, for this story, is when I was young, I hated showers. I never felt like I could stay warm under the water and it was just easier to have baths instead. So, as a young kid, I always had baths.

Can you see where this is going?

Sometimes, I would have the bathroom door opened slightly. I'd chat (loudly) to my mum if she were in the bedroom. Charlie would be chilling downstairs or sometimes he would follow us up for the company and fuss.

There were days he'd wander into the bathroom, tail wagging, happy to see me. He'd lie next to the tub happily relaxing with me. And there were days where he'd rest his head on the tub.

And he would stare longingly at the water.

Then he'd look to me.

Then the water.

I had seconds to pick a side and move to the end of the tub as a fully grown labrador came diving into the bathtub. My parents could usually hear a splash as he landed. I'd be laughing my head off because lets face it, a dog stealing your bath never not funny!

And there Charlie would lie, head bobbing in the water as he had the audacity to act like he was squished in the tub when I suddenly became lucky to fit into the 10% I claimed.

He had his bath times, and he had his spontanious bathtimes too.

I've never known an animal to love water as much as he did. I've certainly never known an animal to love a bath as much as he did!

While I don't see myself having dogs again in the future (the downside to marrying a cat person) I know there will always be a place in my heart for my dogs, and most certainly a bubble bath shaped place for Charlie, too.

He loved his cage, but he also loved to be cheeky...

dog
Like

About the Creator

Stephi Durand

Indie Author | Content Creator

'Look Up' is available to purchase at all online book retailers in Paperback and eBook.

Writing here, writing there, writing everywhere...

Instagram: @stevie_dd

Twitter: @StephiDurand

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.