Petlife logo

The Worth of a Horse

I have been around animals my whole life, and I have learned more lessons from them than I have lessons at school or anywhere else.

By Karla ParrishPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
December 2017

There are many reasons as to why animals can teach us lessons better than us humans can amongst ourselves. Although it could vary from person to person; especially if you’re not an animal person. I have been around animals my whole life, and I have learned more lessons from them than I have lessons at school or anywhere else.

Both of my parents grew up riding and I wanted to continue that. I have been riding ever since I was 5, and I started taking lessons when I was six. I grew up on a farm and I really wanted to be more involved in it. We have always had lots of animals, including pigs, goats, chickens, cows, etc. My mother and father always took care of things, but as my brother and I got older, the more chores we had around the farm.

About two years ago, I got a horse for my birthday. We already had one, but my mother and I wanted to be able to ride together. I’ve had horses before that, but I outgrew my horse Lucy. When we got the new horse, she didn’t have a name. Two weeks after we got her, I named her Lakota. She was a quarter horse cross, but she looked like a paint horse and our farrier helped us find her.

When we got her, she was very green. In horsemanship, when a horse is green, it means they are not experienced in riding or even ground work. I could ride her, but she didn’t know steering and leg pressure. I knew she was going to be a lot of work but I didn’t give up. I was incredibly determined to make everything work out, even if it took longer than expected.

About three months later, Lakota had gotten injured. Her left back leg had been severely cut open; so much to the point where you could see her bone and tendon. The vet stitched her back up, and gave my family and I directions on how to keep the wound clean. After about two months of cleaning the wound and stall keeping her, the wound finally healed. Even though she was healed, I still couldn’t ride her for a few weeks.

When I started riding her again, I could tell everything was off. Her back was sensitive and her sides were getting bigger. Naturally, my family and I thought it was because she was out of shape. Long story short, we kept resting her and she wasn’t getting better, so we called the vet.

We told the vet about everything that was going on, and she decided to do an ultrasound. While she was getting the equipment ready, we waited gravely for the results. Suddenly, the vet started smiling. I gave her a confused look, but she didn’t say anything. The she stopped the ultrasound and she started cleaning the equipment. She then told us that Lakota was pregnant and that the foal was still alive.

The vet told us the rest of the information we needed, and five weeks later, Cinder was born. I cannot tell you how many lessons I have learned from her. One of the most important lessons that I have learned from her is patience. When working with a young horse, patience is key. If I wasn’t patient with her, she would mentally shut down or she would get upset.

I’ve had Cinder for a year and a half now and she is my best friend. I am planning on having her for many years to come. I hope to learn all of the lessons she can teach me, and hope to teach her lessons in return.

horse
Like

About the Creator

Karla Parrish

I love traveling and exploring new places 🌎 Photography is one of my passions 📷

“Do what you love, love what you do.”

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.