Petlife logo

The whole world in a grain of sand

My first trip to Rowdy Girl Sanctuary

By Natalia IswaraPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2
The Red Trailer

This photo was taken on a beautiful day in the beginning of May, 2015, in Angleton Texas, at the original Rowdy Girl Sanctuary. I had just flown in from Uruguay where my Mother and Brother and I had moved for a fresh start in life, after cancer had claimed the life of my Father and we had brushed with death ourselves in the later stages of neurological Lyme disease. I had recently survived an intensely abusive relationship and had found my voice in the animal rights movement, speaking up for the voiceless. I had seen a photo of this amazing woman who was to me, like a mystical unicorn among normal human mortals. Her name is Renee, and after reading her story, I had to go to her and help her cause as soon as conditions permitted. When I arrived, there were around thirty cows, four horses, and a few other fortunate animals. I spent an hour with this unbelievably beautiful horse, who I called “the Bowie horse” for having one blue eye, and one brown one, who would’ve been slaughtered if not for the heart work of Renee and her husband Tommy. This is one of a few photos I took with my ancient little iPhone 5 of our profoundly meaningful first meeting. He and I stood motionless with our foreheads touching, and I could clearly discern the depth of his wisdom, the beauty of his Soul. He told me of countless things and knew I could hear everything he shared. In the photograph, much later I realized the whole sanctuary lay visible, reflected in his other-worldly eye. There, in his curiosly shaped iris, is visible the now famous red trailer, which was once used to transport baby calves to the sale barn and ultimately, to merciless slaughter. Renee wrote a song about the red trailer, and how it would never be used to steal babies from their grieving Mothers ever again. This photo I chose among many many others for its sublime beauty and for the poignant message it will always serve to carry to all Truth seeking Souls in the history of Animal Liberation. It is by far, the most important one in a time when the Earth is screaming for our stewardship and care through every single one of her inhabitants, every one of our hearts. I fancy myself a skilled “iPhone artist” and believe in creating quality works using whatever tools one has. My trusty little phone has served me well in this endeavor and it continues to be my favorite tool for capturing life’s experiences, lessons, and stunning images.

horse
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.