Petlife logo

The Snail Race

Multitude of snails

By Katrina ReidyPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Racing Snails

Hi, my name is Katrina and I want to tell you about Snail racing and how my brother and I wanting to have our snails race each other.

So here we go:

When my brother and I were younger we would love to look and find snails and compare the snails to each other and then see how many snails we can find and after we were done looking and comparing the snails that we have found we would put them back where we found them and go inside and wash up and if anyone asked what we did I and my brother would take turns telling whoever asked us that we looked and found all these snails and then compared the snails to each other.

So when i and my brother started looking and found all those nails it was in the backyard, so I came up with the idea of telling my brother hey if we had that much luck in the backyard looking for snails why don’t we try the front yard and that decision did not turn out to be good at all. As I and my brother kept trying to find snails in the front yard our mother comes out and tells us we need to go inside and wash ourself and go to bed.

The next day I and my brother wake up and instantly go outside to look for more snail and by this point we really were over the front yard because we really did not find that many snails in the front yard, so we went back to the backyard and after we kept finding snails I was like hey to my brother let’s start putting the snails we found in a little habitat and keep them in it, so we know that when we keep looking for snails and we find some they are not the same snail and that it’s a completely different snail, so my brother made his habitat and I made mine, but I had more snails then him.

We went inside and did the same everyday routine and I remember laying in bed that night thinking if i a and my brother were going to find anymore snails because I and my brother we were looking all over the backyard and then made those homes for our snails and I kept telling myself I needed to go to sleep which I did fall asleep and woke up the next day with my brother looking all sad and I asked him “Why” and he told me that one of his snails got stepped on and died and he started crying and I told him he can have one of my snails, but I get to pick which one he gets and he was just happy to get another snail, but we did have a little snail funeral it was so adorable.

The snail hunt was becoming a little difficult in the backyard because I and my brother basically found all the snails that were in the backyard and if we wanted anymore we really had to search the front yard and it was a challenge, but my brother and I we managed to find a few snails in the front yard and put them into our habitats that we made and we decided to count our snails cans I had ten and my brother had eleven.

I was thinking while I was sitting there watching my snails I said something along the lines to my brother about we should race our snails against each other.

The results were in for the races I and my brother put on with our snails and here is the outcomes:

1. I won

2. Brother won

3. It was a tie because our snails kept going off trail

4. I won

5. Brother won

6. All the snails that were still in habitat we raced and some just stayed put and the other’s just went wherever they wanted to lol

The races were really fun because you never knew what the snails were going to do and it was always different from day by day as we put these races on with our snails.

wild animals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.