Petlife logo

The Rocky-Top Chronicles (part 3)

Getting to know the newest member of the family

By Taylor RigsbyPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Like
Finally got him to pose

So - we've had one heck of week since Rocky came home from his sleep-over at the breeder's:

We were all able to get a good night's sleep for two nights, and his breeders (who are far more experienced pet-owners) were able to reinforce everything he's learned so far. Everything from the bell-training, to learning his name, to (most importantly!) getting him to sleep at night (for at least several hours at a time).

On top of that, we've also had our first check-up with the Vet (a perfect bill of health!), and we've been through our first "away-trip" (where one of us leaves for at least 2 days); the person going on this trip, in fact, was your's truly... who just so happens to be the one Rocky's imprinted on.

...frankly, we were all a little scared.

But, despite our reservations, I'm pleased to report that my mother, brother, and Rocky all managed to get through it with flying colors. We even discovered a better sleeping-arrangement for our fur-baby, which has helped him to get closer to that 8-hour mark at night.

Yep, that's right: our little guy's best record for sleeping through the night is now 7 hours straight! And at 11 weeks old, to boot!

On top of that, he's really taken to the bell-training as part of our house-breaking regiment - as of this week, we've only had about 4 total accidents in the house (of course, that record was promptly broken this morning... and for reasons we will soon get into).

As of now, there are a few things I'm learning about Rocky-Top:

For one thing, he's very smart. I mean smart. I'm sure a lot of people feel that way about their pets, but I'm absolutely serious about Rocky. Not only has he picked up bell-training so quickly, but he's also figured out how to hack the system. Sometimes he'll ring the bells as a way of sneaking out to play instead of going potty. At first we had an advantage: he would pull the bells by the tassel instead of hitting them with his paw. That's how we knew he was more interested in play; when he hit the paw and then sat by the door, that was his signal to potty.

But then, just yesterday afternoon, I think he made a discovery. He rang the bell once, sat by the door, but when we let him out he made a bee-line for his favorite corner... to play in.

Exploring the backyard

Although I can't really complain too much. After a brief adjustment period, he's actually taken to his leash surprisingly well. He still stumbles and tugs, and pouts at times when he can't go as far as he wants, but he's learning to follow basic directions and doesn't mind it as much.

Another thing I've learned is that he is such a Ham. He loves attention, especially from new people. He's also a chewer, though, so I'm constantly reprimanding him for going after my slippers - and my other's boots - and my brother's robe. Pretty much anything he can squeeze into his mouth.

But, the really good thing that I've learn recently - much to my surprise - is that he actually likes sleep. Once we figured out where to put his kennel (because apparently the 'where' was the biggest hurdle), he started sleeping more and more through the night. As I mentioned, he's closing in on 8 hours already. Though I doubt he'll hit that milestone for about another month.

He still needs at least 1 nightly potty-break... and he's not afraid of telling us!

His “tall bed” is perfect for colder days

It took some time, but I think we're all finally starting to settle in to our new 'new' normal. Our routines are still a little shaky at times, but at least they're functional. Due in part because we've finally gotten used to each other.

I'm still a little worried about going back to work once this holiday season is over. I technically work from home right now, but even then I feel like I don't have enough time - with trying to keep him on track with his basic training. But, I do know at some point I'll have to get him used to me not being around as much... or, in the best case scenario, teach him to sit in his bed while I'm in the office.

Well, first thing's first - let's get him through our first family Christmas together.

- 12/17/23

dog
Like

About the Creator

Taylor Rigsby

I'm a bit of a mixed-bag: professional artisan, aspiring businesswoman, film-aficionado, and part-time writer (because there are too many stories in my head).

Check out more of my "stitchcraft" at: www.rigsbystudio.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.