Petlife logo

The Passing of A Dear Friend

Lived from: Dec.25th, 2010 - Apr.30th, 2022

By Kim.D.Published 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Lightningbolt Thunderstorm Duckett

I just wanted to say something real quick for anyone willing to read a bit...

So back at my old house (I don't call it a home because it wasn't) I had two cats. A white/grey cat that I named after the famous Marvel villain Loki. He got his name because when I met him, he immediately slapped me in the face with his tiny paw. The black cat was named Lightning Bolt (I was 8yrs old when I received him as a Xmas present. Believe it or not I was actually asking for a pet dog at the time, but upon my deceased aunt's porch was this little black cat they decided was going to be my Xmas present. At the time the movie Smurfs was out and so my mindset was "I'll name him based on characteristic or a trait" (one or the other).

I remember my (now ex-) grandmother had just picked my siblings and I up from school and told me they had a surprise waiting for me at home. my (now ex-) father and grandmother sat me down and told me to cover my eyes. Once I had closed them, they placed a soft, fluffy, and moving ball into my lap and told me to open my eyes. I fell in love with this cute little fluffy cat despite it not being a dog. I loved it anyway, to be honest, I didn't care what kind of pet I got. I just wanted a companion to help me through this journey of life. I just wanted a friend. Lightningbolt became my closest friend through my parent's fights and arguments. He'd always be near when they started and I'd always cuddle him through those times. I even cuddled my dear friend when he wouldn't expect it. He meant the world to me.

However, jumping right back into how he got such an interesting name . . . I threw a ball down the hallway to see what he would do and he immediately shot off like some racecar after it. Which of course I immediately thought about the famous Disney car, "lightning McQueen". I didn't name him that but that's where inspiration came for his name. His black coat that was so fluffy had reminded me of the dark clouds we'd often get back at the house, so that's where his middle name came from (Thunderstorm). I had most definitely gotten crafty with his name at eight years old now that I'm recalling the good old memories of him.

But I'm in mourning upon finding out my fur baby (LB) has passed away back in April and I wasn't there to say my goodbyes in person. I will always mourn him even through my happy moments. He was there for me more than any person ever was. I just hope he'll forgive me for not going back in time to retrieve him like I planned. He got me through so much at that house and he will be missed dearly. He died peacefully in his sleep and I appreciate knowing my siblings gave him affection the day before. My brother texted me, "he knows he was loved." But I can't help but think he died because he thought I'd abandoned him out of the blue and for seemingly no reason (I have moved out of state into a better place).

R.I.P Lightning Bolt, (Lightningbolt Thunderstorm Duckett) . . . you gave me everything when I was lost and had nothing. I loved you so much and still do, I just can't believe your gone. I'll be coming for your little bro soon I promise. I just wish you stayed a little longer . . . I'm so sorry . . . (Received: Dec.25th, 2010 - Died: Apr.30th, 2022) Fly High my sweet Fur baby, I loved you more than you knew. There will always be a hole in my heart after this day. But you will always be remembered fondly of, come home with me in spirit after I come get lil' bro ok?

cat
2

About the Creator

Kim.D.

https://www.facebook.com/KimDuckett02

Be sure to check out my facebook above! You will find all of my posts related or unrelated to vocal! It will also be an update on why you might not see as much stories being posted! I appreciate you all!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Megan Duckett2 years ago

    Lightning bolt would be proud of you he also knew how much you loved him.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.