Petlife logo

The one who saved me but doesn't know it

to my best friend

By Daisy RodriguezPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2

I am a 38 year old women who has been diagnosed with sever depression and Rheumatoid Arthritis. I had some very dark days in the past. There where days where I did not want the sun light to come into the house, I did not want to shower or even get up from the couch. I just let in the darkness and the dark thoughts. As a mother I would never cry in front of my children I would go to the bathroom while they slept or just told them I was going to go take a shower and just cry, sat there and let the water so call wash away my pain.

Thoughts would go through my mind like "It would be better for the kids if I was not around." "My husband could do much better than me." those days where the hardest to hide from the kids and my husband. Tears would just flow and there was no stopping it. On top of those feeling that I could not control I had pain. There were things I use to do that I can not do anymore because of my RA. Something as simple as holding a pencil or pen was beginning to be hard.

When I got my puppy Nyla at first I thought that this was going to be more work for me and I wasn't going to be able to do much for her but it turned out to be the opposite, she has been the one to take me out of my dark place. Of course I have seen a doctor and have gotten some medication for my depression but even with the medication I still had some days where the medication wouldn't work. The love my Nyla gives me always work and I could count on that everyday. When I am having a bad day at work, I get home and she comes running to me, so happy with her little butt shaking side to side. She is an English Bulldog so she has no tail, so her butt moves side to side it is adorable.

That happiness that she lets out is so intoxicating and contagious that there is no way I could stay mad or get sad at all. When I do have a bad day with my depression Nyla comes and jumps on my lap lays with her head on my chest as if she was listening to my heartbeat licks me and just stares at me, as if letting me know that everything will be okay. If I was crying she would lick my tears and lay her head on my chest, as if she was trying to take the pain away.

She has no idea how much she has saved me from my darkness, and all she asks in return is for me to love her, feed her and take her outside for walks. I would love to give her the world, I let her know that she has saved me from myself everyday, she just sits there and licks me. I know she doesn't understand but when she does that it makes me wonder if in some weird way she actually does.

To the one who saved me and doesn't know it, I would like to say this. I will never let you get into harms way. I will always be your protector as you will always be mine. I promise to give you everything you deserve and then some. you will forever be my best friend.

dog
2

About the Creator

Daisy Rodriguez

I am proud, I currently have one book released The Prince Within which you could purchase on https://bookstore.dorrancepublishing.com or My second book The Prince Within will be released on March 30th of this year by Pegasus Publishing,

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.