Petlife logo

The Night Hunter

A story of a father's love for his family

By Cassondra Cofresi-TuskaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - January 2021
8
The forest over the ridge.

The journey over the ridge to the forest was a peaceful but long journey. The sun was setting quickly. Golden rays blended with shades of pinks and blues that trickled through the trees. Aside from a light chill the evening was nearly perfect for a night hunt.

I steadied my breath and settled in. The cool night air took hold of me as I found a place to rest for a while. I kept quiet and closed my eyes. Listening to the peaceful night as the trees rustled and twilight gave way to a midnight sky.

It was much like any other night hunt, but tonight I knew I could not return home to my family without something to feed them. I hoped to find enough that could satisfy my hungry young ones when they woke. Three hungry little mouths at home were a lot to keep safe and fed. Their mother and I were raising our family on a farm just over the ridge from where I sat. I knew they were safe in their mother’s care while I was out, yet my mind often wondered back to them. It had been a rough winter for us all and now that spring was on us, I was hoping to find more food to help us recover.

I steadied myself and took in a breath of the cool night air. I knew it could be a very long night waiting for something to show itself. I busied myself with thoughts of better times. It wouldn’t be long before I would begin to teach my young ones to hunt and care for themselves.

I stared up into the darkness at the beautiful array of stars that graced the night sky. The very same stars had often guided me home through the darkest nights.

I sunk down low, trying hard not to make a sound. The slightest noise could scare off whatever food may be lurking in the shadows. Hunting was a game of patience. My father had taught me that when I was young. My father and mother had worked hard to keep us young ones fed and warm, and now it was my turn to do the same for my family.

Each passing minute felt like an hour of waiting. I wanted desperately to be home, but I knew I had to be here, waiting, watching, knowing that soon, if I was patient, something would come to me. So once again I closed my eyes and listened to the night.

Suddenly I heard it. It was a light rustling coming through the leaves that littered the ground. I narrowed my gaze and watched with baited anticipation. The sound ebbed and flowed as if coming near and running back again.

I steadied my breath and focused on the direction the sounds were coming from. A heavily wooded area with no light to guide my sight. I did not move or dare make a sound. This forest was known for creatures big and small. I could only hope that what I heard was for me to hunt and not for me to become the hunted.

So quietly I sat and waited. I did not evert my gaze or allow my mind to stray from the task at hand. The sound grew slightly louder and I leaned in for a better look. Through the darkness I could see something moving quickly. Darting back and forth from the shadows. I would need to time my attack perfectly if I was to win this prize. As I planned my attack, I noticed a second shadow near the first. My heart leaped with excitement. I had double the chance of bringing something home, perhaps I could even capture both if I could time it just right.

I could feel it. It was almost time. I must make my move without a sound or they would run and I would return home empty handed.

As I watched them, I spread out quietly and locked onto my target. It was finally time to make my move. In one graceful movement I swooped down from my high perch and reached with both talons for my pray. Suddenly from out of the shadows a racoon leaped in my direction! I turned quickly to avoid his grasp nearly missing my prey. I managed to grab one large mouse but nearly dropped him making my escape.

I held on tight, angry that I had not been able to grab both.

At least for tonight, my babies would eat. My large wings carried me over the ridge and back to the farm. My family nested quietly in the roof of the old barn. My wife was keeping a watchful eye over our young as I returned with food in hand. A grateful look graced her beautiful face as I handed over the large field mouse, I had found for them.

As I walked to the edge of the barn, I looking back out at the night sky. I took in the events of the night. I have had many close calls, many sleepless nights, but tonight… tonight I knew my family was cared for. That is all an old barn owl can hope for. That is all I would ever need.

literature
8

About the Creator

Cassondra Cofresi-Tuska

The Daughter of an Air Force Doctor, raised on the Swiss Austrian border, wife to my biggest fan, mother of 6 amazing children, I have been writing since I was 11. Today I am an author, scriptwriter, and teacher.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.